Frequently Asked Questions
Special Plates and Placards
You will first receive a registration and tab with your current plate number for use until you receive the new plate by mail in four to six weeks. The new plate will come with a new tab and registration.
The new tab and registration were enclosed the window portion of the envelope that contained the plates.
Some plates are issued in pairs (front and back of the vehicle) and some are issued as a single plate, depending on the plate type. See our Plates and Placards page. If your plate is personalized, two plates will be issued for full-size and one for small-size, regardless of the plate type.
Yes. For many plates, $17 of the annual special plate fee is a tax-deductible charitable donation.
No, Arizona special plates are for Arizona-registered vehicles only.
Yes, as long as the vehicle is registered in Arizona and the eligibility requirements are met.
Only for these plate types:
- Military Support / Freedom
- Purple Heart and Veteran
A Historic Vehicle plate may be ordered for a motorcycle.
Many can be personalized for an additional annual personalization fee of $25. See our Plates and Placards
Yes. If you wish to keep the same plate number, you must visit any MVD or authorized third-party office. You will be charged the usual special plate fee for the new plate type. You can not make the change online.
Many special plates offer the disability symbol option for both standard and personalized. See our Plate Selections page for more information. On a personalized plate, the available number of characters is reduced by one to accommodate for the disability symbol.
There is no extra fee charged for the disability symbol. You must pay the usual special plate fee and/or personalization fee charged for that plate type.
You may add the disability symbol to your existing plate at no extra charge. You may be charged any usual special plate and personalization fees due for that plate type. However, the disability symbol is considered one character. So, if you already have the maximum number of characters for the plate type, then the symbol can not be added.
There is no fee for a disability placard. There is also no extra charge to add a disability symbol to a special plate; you only pay the usual fee for that special plate.
Yes, in some cases. You must request the additional placard in writing and state the reason why the additional placard is needed.
Energy Efficient Plates
Arizona's "Energy Efficient Pilot Program" has reached the maximum limit of 10,000 special license plates issued. There are no plates available at this time. Thank you for your interest in the program.
All model years of these vehicles are eligible:
- Honda Civic Hybrid
- Honda Insight
- Toyota Prius
These vehicles meet the Tier II emission levels established under the Clean Air Act (42 U.S.C. 7521) and achieve not less than a 45 percent increase in combined city-highway fuel economy.
Only vehicle make/models that met the standards at the start of the program in 2007 are eligible. Since this is a continuation of the pilot program and not a new program, no additional vehicle models can be included. However, all model years of qualifying vehicles are eligible.
The benefit of participating in the pilot program is unrestricted access to the High Occupancy Vehicle (HOV), or "carpool," lanes in Arizona regardless of the number of passengers.
No. Only alternative fuel powered vehicles are eligible for the reduced vehicle license tax.
Approved applicants will receive an Energy Efficient plate with the "Hybrid" graphic.
Yes. In addition to the Energy Efficient Plate Application you must submit a Disability-Hearing Impaired Plate/Placard Application. If one is already on file, you will need to provide your current disability plate or placard number on the Energy Efficient Plate Application.
No. Due to the limited quantity available for this pilot program, these plates can not be personalized.
Yes, but only to another qualifying energy-efficient vehicle that I own.
If the program does not become permanent, the Energy Efficient plates will be recalled and you will receive a no-fee replacement plate.