Aircraft Services

Registration

Renewal

The following information provides a summary of the laws, rules and procedures for aircraft registration as required by law. Its purpose is to increase the general understanding of aircraft registration requirements in Arizona and to facilitate the registration process for individual owners. In addition to state aircraft registration requirements, the federal government administers a national aircraft registry program through the Federal Aviation Administration. A brief description of the federal program is also included below.

It is the responsibility of the aircraft owner to complete an Application for Aircraft Registration and to register the aircraft with the Motor Vehicle Division Aircraft Registration Unit if the aircraft is based in Arizona. Registration must be accomplished within 60 days after an aircraft is brought into the state and must be renewed annually by the last day of February.

Online Renewal

Easy, fast and secure, renewing your aircraft registration is now just a click away! Go to the aircraft registration renewal website and follow the prompts.

For online renewals, pay by credit card or checking account, and receive your renewal registration and decal in the mail.

NOTE: At this time, aircraft exemptions cannot be filed electronically.

Owners of currently registered aircraft will receive a renewal billing in late December, which allows those owners who wish to pay before the end of the calendar year to do so. It is important to notify the Motor Vehicle Division Aircraft Registration Unit of address changes in writing so that your renewal registration certificate will be correctly addressed.

Payment by check or money order of the tax and registration fee must be received or postmarked by the last day of February. On or after March 1, a $25 penalty fee will be added with an additional $5 penalty for each subsequent month of delinquency.

Key Points to Remember
  • All general aviation aircraft based in the state are required be registered with the Motor Vehicle Division Aircraft Registration Unit with in 60 days after bringing an aircraft into the state or after the transfer of ownership of an aircraft that has been registered in Arizona.
  • All special aircraft — including antique, classic, balloon, glider, warbird, experimental and home-built — are required to be registered with the Motor Vehicle Division Aircraft Registration Unit within 60 days after bringing an aircraft into the state or after the transfer of ownership of an aircraft that has been registered in Arizona.
  • All aircraft registrations must be renewed annually for the calendar year before the last day of February.
  • An Aircraft Exemption Affidavit must be completed by the aircraft owner to exempt an aircraft from the license tax and/or registration fee.
  • License tax for an aircraft in storage, salvage or repair is $20 plus a $5 registration fee.
  • Owners of aircraft which are not properly registered or exempted within the established time limits will be liable for the full registration fee, license tax, $25 penalty and a $5 late fee for each subsequent month of delinquency.
  • For initial registration, the license tax is prorated based on the date of entry into the state or the date of purchase.
  • The license tax is based on the average wholesale blue-book value for the make, model and year of aircraft. Actual purchase price, condition and equipment are not considered in making the valuation.
  • There are no tax refunds. If an aircraft is sold, transferred to another owner, or leaves the state during the year for which tax has already been paid, the tax stays with the aircraft. In these cases, the aircraft registration expires and the new owner must register the aircraft within 60 days if the aircraft remains based in Arizona. Failure to register within 60 days, will result in registration penalties being assessed in the amount of $25 for the first delinquent month and $5 for each subsequent delinquent month.
  • The Arizona Department of Transportation and the FAA do not notify each other of new aircraft in the state.

It is the responsibility of the owner to notify the Motor Vehicle Division Aircraft Registration Unit in writing

  • within 10 days of an address change.
  • within 60 days of when an aircraft is transferred or sold by filling out the back of the aircraft registration certificate and returning it.
  • within 60 days of when an aircraft is placed in storage, salvage or repair to claim eligibility for the $20 aircraft tax (sworn affidavit required).
  • within 10 days when a stored, salvage or repair aircraft is returned to use.
  • within 30 days of when an aircraft is lost or destroyed.

For additional information concerning your specific aircraft registration, call us at 602.712.6995.