Vehicle Services

Registration

Vehicle Registration Renewal

Ways to Renew

You can renew your vehicle registration online. Some registration are due at the end of the month, others are due on the 15th of the month. Check your renewal notice or current registration to see which due date applies to your vehicle.

Before you start, you must do a few things:

  • Ensure your address is correct. If the address on your vehicle registration form matches your current address, then your address is correct.
  • Complete your vehicle emissions test, if required.
  • Have your vehicle renewal form or license plate number.

You can also renew your vehicle registration by phone, using our 24-hour, automated, toll-free service at 888.713.3031.

Please have your renewal notice or registration (current or expired); Visa, Mastercard, Discover or American Express credit/debit card, and a pen or pencil ready. A $25 returned check fee is charged for any check returned by a financial institution, and may result in cancellation of vehicle registrations and driving privileges.

Or you can mail in your renewal to this address:

Motor Vehicle Division
4005 N. 51st Ave.
Phoenix, AZ 85031

Arizona law provides that a license plate is assigned to the vehicle owner, instead of the vehicle.

Most vehicles may be registered for either one or two years at a time. (Some vehicles must be emission tested every year, and are therefore not eligible for two-year registration.) Permanent registration will be issued for some trailers and all-terrain and off-road recreational vehicles.

All-terrain and off-road recreational vehicles that operate only on dirt roads located in unincorporated areas of Arizona must be titled and have a plate, but are exempt from registration and insurance requirements.

Vehicle License Tax Distribution

In addition to other fees, vehicle owners in Arizona pay a Vehicle License Tax (VLT), assessed in place of a personal property tax charged by some other states. Revenues from the Vehicle License Tax are distributed as follows: State Highways 22.72 percent, County Roads 14.38 percent, City Roads 13.72 percent, County General Fund 24.59 percent and City/Town General Fund 24.59 percent.

Registration-Compliance Violators

If you encounter a vehicle that is in violation of registration compliance (that is, the tags are out of date), you can report that vehicle to MVD by filling out our online form for reporting violators.

For more information, please see our Vehicle Services FAQ.

Early Renewal

If an emission test is not required you may renew up to six months before the expiration. If an emissions test is required, you may renew your registration up to three months before the expiration by showing your current registration at the test station.

Last-Minute Renewal

You will not be charged a penalty fee, as long as your mail-in payment is postmarked (or online or phone renewal is completed) on or before the due date.

Late Fees

You will not be charged a penalty fee, as long as your mail-in payment is postmarked (or online or phone renewal is completed) on or before the due date. If payment was due on the last day of the month, and was paid late, but on or before the last day of the next month (or if due on the 15th, and paid on or before the 15th of the next month), add $8 for late fees. For each additional month past the due date, add $4 more.

If your vehicle fails the initial or any subsequent emissions test you will not be charged a penalty fee for late registration renewal if the original test was before the registration expiration date and the registration renewal is postmarked (or Internet or phone renewal is completed) within 30 days of the original test. If you do not receive a renewal notice before the registration expires for your vehicle, you must still renew by the expiration date.

Returned Checks
A $25 fee is charged for any check returned by a financial institution, and may result in cancellation of vehicle registrations and driving privileges.
Tab Replacement

If a combined month/year tab has been lost, stolen or damaged, you can order a replacement online for a $5 fee. The replacement tab comes with a replacement registration document.

Special Conditions

If you own a heavy-duty diesel vehicle with a pre-1988 engine, visit the Arizona Department of Environmental Services for more information before registering your vehicle