Driver Services

Military Personnel

License and Vehicle Services

The following is a brief description of special driver license and vehicle services available to military personnel. For information on other exemptions, see our Vehicle Registration Tax Exemptions page.

Registration Renewal

Arizona residents on active military duty stationed out of state may renew a vehicle registration in three ways:

  • Online
  • Phone (toll-free at 888.713.3031)
  • Mail (pay by check or money order only)

    Motor Vehicle Division
    4005 N. 51st Ave.
    MD 540M
    Phoenix, AZ 85031

If you own a vehicle that is located out of state at the time of registration renewal and is required to be emissions tested, you may apply for an out-of-state emissions exemption from the Arizona Department of Environmental Quality.

If a vehicle registration expires and the vehicle is not being driven or is in storage, a Registration Penalty Fee Waiver, 2C Non-Use may be signed at the time of registration to waive the late registration penalties.

If you wish to maintain the current registration on a vehicle that you own or lease, but it is temporarily not being used, you may submit a De-Insured Certificate online.

If applying for or renewing an exemption, the registration renewal must be made by mail or in person with the required proof of eligibility indicated below.

Automatic Military Extension

Even if the expiration date on your license passes while you are on active military duty, your license will remain valid for up to six months from the time you leave military service.

You may notify us of your active military duty status when you apply for your Arizona driver license. Or, submit copies of the front and back of your military ID card and your most recent earnings/leave statement by mail to this address:

Motor Vehicle Division
P.O. Box 2100
MD 510M
Phoenix, AZ 85001

Five-Year License
Military personnel and dependents stationed in Arizona may visit any MVD office to apply for or to renew a five-year license.
Duplicate License

We began storing digital driver license photos in July 1995. If a digital photo is on file, military personnel and their dependants may obtain a duplicate driver license. There are three ways to pay for your duplicate license:

  • Online: $12.00 (Master Card, Visa, American Express, Discover credit cards only)
  • Phone: $12.00 (Master Card, Visa, American Express, Discover credit cards only)
  • Mail: $12.00 by check, payable to Motor Vehicle Division. Mail to the address below. Please allow four weeks for delivery.

    Motor Vehicle Division
    P.O. Box 2100
    MD 510
    Phoenix, AZ 85001
Reinstatement

Qualified applicants may also reinstate a suspended driver license online or by phone using a major credit card. If your license was issued before July 1995, you must visit an MVD office to obtain a duplicate or reinstated license so that your photo may be updated. A revoked license cannot be reinstated online or by phone. Please see the FAQ page for more info.

Photo Update
All licensees are required to update their photo and pass a vision test every 12 years. However, if we have recorded your active military status this requirement will not apply.
Renew by Mail
If a digital photo is not currently on file with us, then military personnel and their dependents stationed out of state, may renew an Arizona driver license by mail. We will issue the new credential indicating "Valid without Photo" until you are able to visit an MVD office to update your photo.