Frequently Asked Questions

Driver Services

License Information

How do I change my name on my driver license?

You are required by law to notify MVD of a name or address change within 10 days. We are required to verify your Social Security number before your record can be updated, therefore you must first contact the Social Security Administration online or at 800.772.1213 for information on how to change your name on their records. After you have changed your name with SSA, wait two days for their computer system to be updated. You should then visit an MVD office to present identification in both your new and previous names. This must be an original or certified copy (must be certified by the issuing agency) of one of these documents:

  • Marriage Certificate/License
  • Divorce Decree
  • Certificate of Citizenship/Naturalization
  • Court order

What hours are the MVD offices open?

Office hours and availability may vary by location, day or both. See the Office Hours and Locations page.

How much will my driver license or instruction permit cost?

An Instruction Permit is $7. Driver-license fees are based on age.

  • 16-39: $25
  • 40-44: $20
  • 45-49: $15
  • 50 and above: $10

How do I apply for an ID card?

An identification (ID) card is available to all ages (including infants) for a fee of $12. For people age 65 and over, or anyone receiving federal Supplemental Security Income disability payments, there is no fee. You may not possess an Arizona identification card and a valid driver license at the same time.

You must visit an MVD office to complete an application and have a photo taken. Begin your application online. If you need to print one, see Driver License / Identification Card Application. You must bring in two forms of identification, at least one must contain a photo, or three forms of non-photo identification. See Identification Requirements for a listing of acceptable proof of identification. One proof must be listed under Primary.

If you are age 18 or under and unable to sign for yourself, a parent or legal guardian may sign the credential in the legal guardian section on the application.

How can I replace a lost or stolen license, and how much will it cost?

You may replace a lost or stolen driver license or identification card online, by phone or at any MVD or authorized third-party office. The fee for a duplicate license is $12. A duplicate ordered online can be sent by express delivery for an additional fee.

If you visit an office, you must have two forms of identification, one of which contains your photo (or three forms of identification, if no photo). Management approval may be required. If your license has been lost or stolen and you have reason to believe someone else is using it, the incident should be reported to your local police department as an identity theft.

See Identification Requirements for a listing of acceptable proof of identification. One proof must be listed under Primary.

Do I have to take a test?

If you have a current out-of-state driver license in your possession, you will normally not have to take a written or road test. However, in some cases it may be required.

What if my current state is asking for a clearance letter from Arizona?

Clearance letters are no longer issued to individuals. Your state driver-licensing jurisdiction must request clearance information directly from us.

How do I change my address?

You can change your address online. You will be asked to provide your name, date of birth and driver license or identification card number. Address changes are free. There is a $12 charge if you request a replacement driver license or identification card.

When you change your address on our records, it will automatically change the address on your driver-license record and on each vehicle record in which you are designated to receive the registration.

How can I get a Motor Vehicle (Driver or Vehicle) Record?

A Motor Vehicle Record (MVR) is the computer printout of a driving or vehicle record. The manner in which driver license or motor vehicle record information may be released is regulated by the Federal Driver’s Privacy Protection Act (or DPPA), 18 USC 2721-2725 as adopted in Arizona law, Title 28, Chapter 2, Article 5.

The DPPA requires you to have a "permissible use" for requesting and receiving an MVD record that contains personal identifying information (e.g., a person’s driver-license photo/image, Social Security number, driver-license number, name, address and medical/disability information). The Motor Vehicle Record Request form lists those permissible uses.

If eligible, you can obtain and print a copy of a record online. You may also obtain a copy by completing a Motor Vehicle Record Request and submitting $3 for an uncertified record (3-year driving record) or $5 for a certified record (5-year driving record) by mail or at any MVD or authorized third-party office. Your signature on the form must be notarized or witnessed by an MVD agent.

What traffic convictions will show if an insurance company runs my MVR?

Any convictions received and showing on your driving record within the past 39 months will be provided to an insurance company.

How many points do I have on my driving record?

The amount of points depends on the violations. Contact us for this information. Be prepared to provide your full name, date of birth and driver-license number.

How long does a conviction stay on my record?

A conviction stays on your record for five years from the date of conviction.

Why do I have to attend Traffic Survival School?

You may be required to attend a Traffic Survival School for

  • convictions causing the accumulation of at least 8 points, but not more than 12 points, within a 12-month period, with no Traffic Survival School completed in the previous 24 months.
  • a conviction of aggressive driving, moving violation resulting in an accident causing serious physical injury, or moving violation resulting in an accident causing death.
  • the first moving violation of a driver under 18 years old.
  • a conviction for red-light running.

What tickets do I have on my driving record?

Purchase a Motor Vehicle Record online or contact us for this information. Be prepared to provide your full name, date of birth and driver-license number.

Why is my driver license suspended, revoked or both?

It depends on the violation. Purchase a Motor Vehicle Record online or contact us for this information. Be prepared to provide your full name, date of birth and driver-license number.

What is the difference between a suspension and a revocation?

A suspension has a specific start and end date. When the suspension period ends, you pay the reinstatement fee and any reapplication fees to restore your driving privilege. Revocations are indefinite; there is a minimum length of time, usually one to three years, but the action does not automatically end on that date. You must go through an investigation process to determine whether it would be safe to restore your driving privilege. If approved for reinstatement, there would be reinstatement and reapplication fees.

How can I reinstate a suspension?

The reinstatement process can vary, depending on the reason for the suspension. Court-ordered suspensions require a clearance from the court. Other suspensions may require an SR22. Once any required documentation is obtained, take the documents to your local driver-license facility, and pay the appropriate reinstatement and reapplication fees. A vision screening will be required, and you may be asked to take a written and/or road skills test.

For reinstatement fees, payment may be made in cash, by cashier's check or by money order. Some offices accept credit cards. Cash and credit card payments are not accepted by mail. No personal checks are accepted.

If you have met all the requirements to reinstate your license except for paying the fees, then you may be able to reinstate online.

What do I need to do if I have moved out of state and just now received a suspension notice?

Depending on the violation, you may be eligible for a phone hearing, or you may send the necessary reinstatement requirements by mail. Contact us to review your record and determine what action is necessary.

When can I apply for a restricted driving permit?

Provided you meet the necessary requirements, a restricted driving permit can be issued to you either by mail or in any driver license office. "Necessary requirements" would be when

  • a breath, blood or urine test has been submitted to MVD indicating a blood alcohol level of .08 or higher, it is the first DUI within five years and the DUI did not result in serious physical injury.
  • found guilty of driving without insurance.
  • otherwise directed by the court, if permitted by law.

What is an SR22?

Failure to maintain proper insurance could lead to the suspension of your vehicle registration, driver license or both. To reinstate these privileges, fees and future proof of financial responsibility must be filed with MVD. The future proof requirement is most commonly an SR22 from an insurance company licensed to conduct business in the state of Arizona.

How long am I required to have an SR22?

You must maintain an SR22 for three years from the date of suspension, unless it is a judgment suspension. Because judgment suspension requirements can vary from case to case, contact us to review your record and determine the length of time you need to maintain the SR22 for a judgment suspension.

What is a judgment suspension?

A judgment is generally a court order issued when someone has had an accident and was not insured. The judgment suspension is placed on the driving record in accordance with the court order.

How can I reinstate a revocation?

If the license is revoked, you must submit a Revocation Investigation Packet. We will then conduct an investigation, which is a process that takes up to 30 days. If your reinstatement request is approved, you will pay the necessary reinstatement and reapplication fees, and your privileges will be restored. If your request is denied, you are eligible to request an administrative hearing. An investigation packet is not required for reinstatement of medical revocations.

For reinstatement fees, payment may be made in cash, by cashier's check or by money order. Some offices accept credit cards. Cash and credit card payments are not accepted by mail. No personal checks are accepted.

When am I going to hear about my investigation?

You will receive a written response within approximately 30 to 45 days from the date the packet was submitted.

How do I schedule a hearing?

Hearing requests may be submitted by any one of these methods:

  • Online: Use our secure email response system, which encrypts your personal information.
  • Mail: Send your request to this address:
    Executive Hearing Office
    Arizona Department of Transportation
    P.O. Box 2100
    MD 507M
    Phoenix, AZ 85001
  • Fax: Send your request to 602.241.1624.
  • Personal Delivery: Visit the Executive Hearing Office at 3737 N. Seventh St., Suite 160, in Phoenix, or any MVD office statewide.

You must include your first, middle and last name; date of birth; license number; mailing address; home and business phones; and case number. Upon receipt of your written request, a hearing may be scheduled, and you will be notified by mail as to the date, time and location.

What is a graduated driver license (class G) and what are some of the facts about its origin and use?

A number of documented driving studies have indicated that youthful drivers could benefit from the education and experience required by a graduated driver licensing program. While the laws vary from state to state, the intent of the class G license contains three basic stages:

  1. Instructional permit stage
  2. Restricted or probationary stage (the class G in Arizona)
  3. Full license stage (class D in Arizona)

See the Teen Drivers page for more information.

What are the new penalties for moving violations while under the age of 18?

  • First violation: If you attend Defensive Driving School, your record will remain clean.
  • Second violation (first conviction): You must attend Traffic Survival School.
  • Third violation (second conviction): You will receive a three-month suspension.
  • Fourth violation (third conviction): You will receive a six-month suspension.

When will I need to update my photo?

You are required to update your photo every 12 years. At the end of 12 years, a notice will be sent to you requesting that you visit a driver license facility for a new photo and replacement driver license.

Failure to comply with this request may result in disqualification for certain driver license services, including online services, such as duplicate replacements for lost or damaged licenses.

How do I renew my driver license?

You may renew your driver license anytime before the expiration date of your current license.

You must visit an MVD office to complete an application, have a photo taken and pass a vision screening. Begin your application online. If you need to print one, see Driver License / Identification Card Application.

You will submit your current driver license as your primary identification document. If we cannot retrieve your photo, you will be asked for a secondary form of identification. See Identification Requirements for a list of acceptable proof of identification.

You cannot renew your license online.

What are the requirements to renew a driver license when age 65 or over?

You are required to update your photo every 12 years. At the end of 12 years, a notice will be sent to you requesting that you visit a driver license facility for a new photo and replacement driver license.

Failure to comply with this request may result in disqualification for certain driver license services, including online services, such as duplicate replacements for lost or damaged licenses.

In addition, you will be required to pass a vision screening test. The renewed license will be valid for five years. The fee is $10.

Can I renew my license online or by telephone?

No. You must visit a driver-license office in person to complete the application process and have a new photo taken.

Does my driver license expire at age 60?

No. At one time, driver licenses were issued with an expiration date on the driver's 60th birthday. Then, the law changed to extend the expiration date an additional five years to age 65. The computer records for those licenses were automatically updated to reflect the new expiration date.

If you have a license that indicates that it expires at age 60, you may continue to use the license you have. No action on your part is required. However, because it has the old expiration date, it may no longer be viewed as a valid document when you present it as a means of identification.

If you have a digital photo on file, you may obtain a duplicate license showing the new expiration date. If your Social Security number appears on your license, you may request that it be replaced by an MVD system-generated number.

If you do not have a digital photo on file, you must visit a driver-license office in person to complete the application process and have a new photo taken.

There are three ways to pay for your duplicate license:

  • Online: $12 (Master Card, Visa, American Express, Discover credit cards only)
  • Phone: $12 (Master Card and Visa credit cards only)
  • Mail: $12 by check, payable to Motor Vehicle Division. Mail to the address below. Please allow four weeks for delivery.

    Motor Vehicle Division
    P.O. Box 2100
    MD 510
    Phoenix, AZ 85001

What Instruction Permits are available?

If you are at least 15 years and 6 months of age, you may be issued a graduated and/or a motorcycle instruction permit. You must be at least 18 for an operator permit.

With a graduated permit, you must be accompanied by a class A, B, C or D licensed driver, who is at least 21 years of age and occupies the seat beside you.

With an operator permit you must be accompanied by a class A, B, C or D licensed driver who occupies the seat beside you.

These permits are valid for 12 months.

With a motorcycle permit, you are prohibited from operating a motorcycle on freeways or interstate highways, between sunset and sunrise, or at any time when there is not enough light to see persons or vehicles clearly at a distance of 500 feet.

The motorcycle instruction permit is valid for seven months and can be renewed one time within a 24-month period. See Motorcycle License Information for more details.

What is needed for a person from another country to drive in Arizona?

You may legally drive in Arizona using a valid driver license from another country. An international driving license or permit is not required, but it is recommended because it can be printed in English and used in conjunction with the driver license from the other country. If an international driving license or permit is used alone, it must be issued by a country other than the United States. Vehicle rental companies may have additional requirements.

However, Arizona law requires that you obtain an Arizona driver license (and vehicle registration) immediately if any one of the following applies to you:

  • You work in Arizona (other than for seasonal agricultural work).
  • You are registered to vote in Arizona.
  • You have place children in school without paying the tuition rate of a nonresident.
  • You have a business that has an office in Arizona that bases and operates vehicles in this state.
  • You have obtained a state license or pay school tuition fees at the same rate as an Arizona resident.
  • You have a business that operates vehicles to transport goods or passengers within Arizona.
  • You have remained in Arizona for a total of seven months or more during any calendar year, regardless of your permanent residence.

Out-of-state students enrolled with seven or more semester hours are not considered Arizona residents, regardless of employment.

Active-duty military personnel based in Arizona who qualify for exemption under the Service Members Civil Relief Act of 2003 are not considered Arizona residents.

How do I obtain help with statistical research questions?

Please see our Statistics page for vehicle or driver statistical data.

How do I make an online payment for a traffic ticket?

Most delinquent court financial obligations can be paid online or by phone at 866.859.2527. When paying online, you will need the court case number or the notice number (located on the collection notice). Case number information can be obtained online or by calling 602.452.3494 (outside the Phoenix metro area, call 877.546.7404). When paying by phone, you will need the collections notice number. If your case is not delinquent and submitted to collections, or does not appear on the payment website, please contact the court for other payment options, further instructions or both.

If you received a notice from us stating you cannot renew your vehicle registration due to nonpayment of court fines, fees or penalties for civil or criminal traffic/boating violations or failure to appear in a criminal traffic/boating case, payment can be made in person at the court, online or by phone at 866.859.2527. You will receive a confirmation number with a link to ServiceArizona after making a payment. If all outstanding court financial obligations are paid in full, you or any co-owners can complete your vehicle registrations that are due. If a court appearance is required, you must appear in court before you and any co-owners will be able to register these vehicles.

Only court financial obligations approved for online payment are displayed online. You may have other outstanding obligations with Arizona courts.

If your driving privilege has been suspended, you will need to reinstate your license before you can operate any motor vehicle on the public roads of this state. If you have met all requirements to reinstate your driving privilege except for paying the fees, then you may be able to reinstate online.

Note: We cannot accept payment for any delinquent fines or penalties owed to the courts. Payment must be made directly to the courts or as indicated above. Questions should be directed to the courts.