Archives

Tuesday, December 22, 2015

Under new law, ADOT offers vehicle license tax exemption to survivors of fallen first responders

Blog-2015-1222-MVD A new law is soon going to allow spouses and dependents of first responders killed in the line of duty to register a vehicle free of the vehicle license tax.

Developed as a way of expressing gratitude to those who serve and protect our communities, the law goes into effect at the start of 2016. Here’s what you need to know...

These qualifying family members of law enforcement officers, firefighters and other emergency responders may exempt one vehicle registered in their names from the vehicle license tax and $8 registration fee:
  • A spouse for as long as he or she remains unmarried.
  • A child of the fallen responder who is under age 18.
  • An unmarried full-time student at least 18 years of age and under 23 years of age.
  • An unmarried dependent who suffers from a disability that began before age 23 and remains a dependent of the surviving spouse or a guardian.
Those who wish to apply for this exemption can go online to the ADOT website and download the Survivor of Fallen Responder Exemption form. The form must be certified by the employer of the fallen responder stating that the responder did work for the agency and died in the line of duty or died from injuries suffered in the line of duty. The certified form can then be turned in to the Motor Vehicle Division to get the license tax waiver.

Surviving dependents who are full-time students or disabled will be required to show proof of college enrollment or disability.

Those who qualify for this exemption are encouraged to keep the completed form for their records so they may use it for each year they qualify for the vehicle license tax waiver.

Find more details on our website.
Posted by Angela DeWelles   |  Labels:  Motor-Vehicle-Division


Back

The Arizona Ombudsman – Citizens Aide helps you resolve ongoing issues with State Agencies.

Civil RightsTitle VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, and the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA)

Pursuant to Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, and the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), ADOT does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, age, sex or disability. Persons that require a reasonable accommodation based on language or disability should contact ADOT’s Civil Rights Office at civilrightsoffice@azdot.gov. Requests should be made as early as possible to ensure the State has an opportunity to address the accommodation.

De acuerdo con el título VI de la Ley de Derechos Civiles de 1964 y la Ley de Estadounidenses con Discapacidades (ADA por sus siglas en inglés), el Departamento de Transporte de Arizona (ADOT por sus siglas en inglés) no discrimina por raza, color, nacionalidad, edad, género o discapacidad.  Personas que requieren asistencia (dentro de lo razonable) ya sea por el idioma o por discapacidad deben ponerse en contacto con la Oficina de Derechos Civiles en civilrightsoffice@azdot.gov. Las solicitudes deben hacerse lo más pronto posible para asegurar que el equipo encargado del proyecto tenga la oportunidad de hacer los arreglos necesarios.