Archives

Friday, December 1, 2017

File a Sold Notice with MVD or you could wind up fighting a fine

NOTE: Today’s blog, includes a version in Spanish at the bottom of this webpage.
Sold Notice1

By Lourdes Lerma / ADOT Communications


Did you know that if you sell a vehicle you are liable for it until the new owner transfers ownership at a MVD or Third Party Provider?

Imagine this:

You sold, donated or traded in your vehicle. The new owner promises you he/she will transfer the title into his/her name first thing in the morning, and you agreed.

Well, title was never transferred into the new owner’s name; perhaps the vehicle was abandoned, involved in a crash or used to commit a crime. Weeks pass, and because you are still the owner of record you receive an Abandoned Vehicle Notification from MVD stating that you owe $500 or $600 for in abandoned vehicle fees and you won’t be able to conduct any transactions with the MVD until the issue is resolved.

The easy way to avoid this scenario is to immediately complete a Sold Notice at www.servicearizona.com as soon as you transfer ownership of a vehicle. It's free, and it's the law.

Learn more about this topic at www.azdot.gov/mvd/vehicleservices/abandoned-vehicles.
_______________


¿Vendiste tu vehículo y ahora tienes que pagar una multa?

¿Sabías que si vendes un vehículo, tú eres responsable por él hasta que se transfiera el título de propiedad en MVD o Proveedor Independiente Autorizado? 

Imagínate esto: Vendiste, donaste o intercambiaste tu vehículo; el nuevo dueño te promete transferir el título a primera hora en la mañana…tú estás de acuerdo. Bien, el título nunca se transfirió a nombre del nuevo dueño; a lo mejor el vehículo fue abandonado, estuvo involucrado en un choque o se utilizó para cometer un crimen. Ya pasaron varias semanas, y porque tú eres el propietario en el récord de MVD, recibes una carta notificándote que el vehículo fue abandonado y que debes pagar una multa de $500 o $600 dólares, y lo peor de todo, que no podrás realizar ningún trámite con MVD hasta que el asunto sea resuelto.

La manera más fácil de evitar este escenario es completar de manera inmediata una Notificación de Venta (Sold Notice por su nombre en inglés) en www.servicearizona.com. Encuentra más información sobre este tema en: www.azdot.gov/mvd/vehicleservices/abandoned-vehicles.
Posted by Caroline Carpenter   |  Labels:  MVD, sold-car, sold-notice


Back

The Arizona Ombudsman – Citizens Aide helps you resolve ongoing issues with State Agencies.

Civil RightsTitle VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, and the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA)

Pursuant to Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, and the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), ADOT does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, age, sex or disability. Persons that require a reasonable accommodation based on language or disability should contact ADOT’s Civil Rights Office at civilrightsoffice@azdot.gov. Requests should be made as early as possible to ensure the State has an opportunity to address the accommodation.

De acuerdo con el título VI de la Ley de Derechos Civiles de 1964 y la Ley de Estadounidenses con Discapacidades (ADA por sus siglas en inglés), el Departamento de Transporte de Arizona (ADOT por sus siglas en inglés) no discrimina por raza, color, nacionalidad, edad, género o discapacidad.  Personas que requieren asistencia (dentro de lo razonable) ya sea por el idioma o por discapacidad deben ponerse en contacto con la Oficina de Derechos Civiles en civilrightsoffice@azdot.gov. Las solicitudes deben hacerse lo más pronto posible para asegurar que el equipo encargado del proyecto tenga la oportunidad de hacer los arreglos necesarios.