Frequently Asked Questions
State law requires installation and maintenance of an interlock when your driving privilege is limited or restricted after being convicted of a certain alcohol- and/or drug-related violation (see Arizona Revised Statutes 28-1381, 28-1382, 28-1383, 28-1402, 28-1461 and 28-3319).
The interlock requirement is effective immediately. Failure to have the device installed and to provide verification to MVD within 30 days from the date of conviction, may result in immediate suspension of your Arizona driving privilege and possible extension of the original interlock requirement.
Upon conviction of driving without an interlock device as required by ARS 28-1464, your requirement to maintain an interlock will be extended for one additional year after your original requirement would have ended.
State law requires that your driving privilege remain suspended or revoked until MVD receives proof of a functioning interlock in each motor vehicle you operate, even though you may not be the registered owner (see ARS 28-1461).
The law requires use of the interlock for at least one year from the date that your driving privilege is reinstated or from the date MVD receives the report of conviction, whichever occurs later.
If you have no vehicle, or do not intend to operate a vehicle, your driving privilege will remain suspended or revoked until you are ready to install an interlock and reinstate your driving privilege.
Your installer will electronically notify MVD within 24 hours of the installation, but you must reinstate your driving privilege. You may show MVD your copy of the Proof of Installation form provided to you by your service center at the time of installation.
Contact your interlock manufacturer, or show MVD your copy of the Proof of Installation form provided to you by your service center.
Yes. The interlock manufacturer is required to send reports of your interlock usage electronically to MVD. All violations are reported in real time on a daily basis. If those reports indicate a failure to comply with interlock requirements, tampering, circumvention or certain other violations, you will receive notification from MVD extending your original interlock requirement for an additional six to 12 months.
The law requires use of the interlock for at least one year from the date that your driving privilege is reinstated or from the date MVD receives the report of conviction, whichever occurs later. (see 28-1461).
The law requires all newly installed, transferred or replaced devices to be equipped with a camera, GPS, and real time reporting capabilities. (See ARS 28-1462 and A.A.C. R17-5-604. Effective July 1, 2018.)
Anytime a breath sample is provided.
The camera is required to capture a single image at the time of a breath sample. If the manufacturer utilizes a short video to ensure a clear image of the driver is captured, only a still image is reported on the logs that are sent to MVD.
No. The law requires use of the interlock for at least one year from the date that your driving privilege is reinstated or from the date MVD receives the report of conviction, whichever occurs later. (see ARS 28-1461).
The violation will be reported to the MVD and your interlock requirement could be extended for 6 to 12 months. Please see our Certified Ignition Interlock tab.
The average time requirement is 12 months. Some violations require longer times depending on the conviction that you were found guilty of.
Certain violations for first time convictions may be eligible for a 6 month deferment. Certain restrictions apply, including no violations during the first 6 months and showing up to all scheduled appointments. Please contact us to see if you are eligible for the 6 month deferment.
State law requires that your driving privilege remain suspended or revoked until MVD receives proof of a functioning interlock in each motor vehicle you operate, even though you may not be the registered owner (see ARS 28-1461). Some manufactures may require written authorization from all owners prior to install.
Cost will vary by the manufacturer and possibly by the service center. In accordance with ARS 28-1462 and A.A.C. R17-5-614, the service provider will collect $20 for each installed or transferred device. All other fees are established by the Manufacturer and service centers. The MVD does not regulate or monitor any fee above the $20 install fee. See Interlock Installation and Monitoring for a complete listing, and choose the one that best fits your needs.
In order to ensure the device is reading properly, the device must be calibrated regularly. If you fail to show up for your calibration at least every 90 days, your license will be suspended and you will be required to start your original interlock time over.
We will send a notice of eligibility to those qualified for the special restricted driver license. Contact us to verify whether you are eligible for the special restricted driver license. If you are eligible, MVD will tell you how to apply.
If you chose to remove early, you will not be eligible to apply for a new license until your suspension or revocation period is over, even if the special restricted driver license is surrendered.
A person, except an underage licensee restricted by ARS 28-3320 or ARS 28-3322, may voluntarily cancel and surrender the special restricted driver license to MVD at any time during the restricted period. The person must provide us with a completed Driver License/ID Cancellation Request. In order to avoid any additional requirements being added to a record, a cancellation needs to be completed prior to the removal of the device
A restricted underage licensee who has obtained a special restricted driver license and wishes to cancel must petition the court for permission to cancel the restricted license. If approved by the court, you may surrender your special restricted driver license by providing the court abstract along with your restricted license to MVD.
Only drivers with a Class D or Class G driver license may be eligible for a special restricted driver license under Arizona law. If you currently hold a commercial driver license, you must apply in person at any MVD office for a class D special restricted driver license.
Out of Arizona
Arizona requirements still need to be maintained. Contact your interlock manufacturer to locate an authorized interlock service center in your new state that will continue to provide all interlock services required by the state of Arizona. It is your responsibility to work with your interlock manufacturer to ensure Arizona's MVD receives all required electronic reporting until you have completed the interlock requirement.
No. Contact an Arizona authorized interlock manufacturer to locate an authorized interlock service center in your state that will provide all interlock services required by the state of Arizona.
It is your responsibility to work with your interlock manufacturer to ensure Arizona's MVD receives all required electronic reporting until you have completed the interlock requirement.
Arizona requirements still need to be maintained. Contact your interlock manufacturer for more information. It is your responsibility to work with your interlock manufacturer to ensure Arizona's MVD receives all required electronic reporting until you have completed the interlock requirement.
It is not permissible for you to drive a vehicle without a device installed or the rental company to rent to you without one installed. Please contact your manufacture for more information.
The interlock device will not allow the vehicle to start if the alcohol content is more then 0.02 BAC. The manufacturer will report a failed breath test over the legal limit as a violation to the department. This may extend your interlock for an additional 6 months.
You should contact your interlock manufacturer or authorized service center for questions or concerns regarding violations. However, you may also refer to any training material or brochures provided to you by your interlock provider at the time of installation. You may also refer to the Certified Ignition Interlock tab of this page.
MVD takes action based on information provided by your manufacturer. Contact your manufacturer to verify the accuracy of the information provided. If your manufacturer is unable to resolve the issue, request a hearing from the Executive Hearing Office.
There is no simple answer to this question. Of course, you must keep the interlock installed until the end of the original requirement period. If you are still waiting for your hearing when the original period expires and you keep the device installed, you will be responsible for the additional maintenance expenses. If you remove the interlock and the decision of the Hearing Office is not in your favor, you must have the interlock reinstalled (at your own expense) to begin the extension requirement.
You should always contact your interlock manufacturer or service center for questions, concerns or clarification regarding removal of the device.
Contact us to verify that you are eligible to have the interlock removed.
State law requires the interlock remain installed for at least one year beginning on the date of reinstatement of your driving privilege or on the date we receive notice of your conviction, whichever occurs later (see ARS 28-3319). You may also contact MVD to determine the date you qualify to have the device removed.
Contact us to verify if your interlock requirement has been extended and/or to determine the date you will qualify to have the device removed.
Yes. If you choose to switch vehicles or manufactures, once the device is removed you have 72 hours to get the device reinstalled to avoid a non-compliance violation and start your original time over. While the device is removed, it is against the law to drive a vehicle without the interlock installed. Contact your manufacture for swapping options.
A removal is electronically reported to the department. If a device is not reinstalled and the MVD does not receive proof of an install within 72 hours, the driving privileges will be immediately suspended and you will be required to start your original time over.
ARS 28-1461 states that the person shall not operate a motor vehicle unless it is equipped with a certified ignition interlock device. If you cannot install on all your vehicles, it is not permissible for you to drive your other vehicles that are not installed with an interlock device during your requirement.
If you have a complaint about fees charged, please contact your provider directly.
If you have a complaint about the service you received or the device that was installed, please describe your issues, and include your full name, date of birth and Arizona driver license number, as well as the name and location of the interlock provider, and mail to this address:
Motor Vehicle Division
Ignition Interlock Unit
P.O. Box 2100
Phoenix, AZ 85001
Or, contact MVD
No. The device has a battery back up to protect the data log's memory. However; due to security precautions to detect tampering, if the device detects a change in battery voltage; such as a ‘battery disconnect’, it may register as a tampering event and recall your device to the service center so the technician may conduct a tamper check and this may be reported to the MVD as a tampering violation. If mechanical services must performed on your vehicle, please notify your manufacturer prior to services.
During a training session provided by the service center, drivers are cautioned about common substances that contain alcohol, including mouthwashes and medications. If the blood-alcohol concentration of the driver, as measured in the breath, is over the preset limit, the driver will not be allowed to start the vehicle.
Not many companies will install an interlock device on a motorcycle. Those that will, often require additional items to ensure security and compliance of the device. Contact an interlock manufacturer for more information.
No, there are no provisions for exempting individuals with medical or other conditions from a mandatory ignition interlock order.
There are no provisions in state law to exempt a person with a medical condition from an interlock requirement. All devices are certified to meet NHITSA standards. Based on these NHITSA standards, there is a minimum blow rate that is required to get a proper sample. However, there are options that one can pursue when providing a breath sample is challenging:
- Practice starting the vehicle while parked in a driveway or vacant parking lot. You may also seek additional training from the service center.
- Some manufacturers may be able to lower the volume of air required for their devices as an accommodation. Start by contacting your manufacturer to see if adjustments on the blow rate can be made.
- If you are unable to provide an acceptable breath sample, you can change to a different ignition interlock device. You should make arrangements to have the old device removed and the new one installed on the same day, if possible. Also, remember that you cannot legally operate a vehicle that does not have an IID, so you will need someone else to drive your vehicle to the installation appointment.