Frequently Asked Questions

Aircraft Services

Aircraft and Airports

How many aircraft are registered in the state?

There are more than 6,500 registered aircraft based in Arizona, and there are 17,986 licensed pilots.

Who is responsible for ensuring flight safety and investigating allegations of unsafe flight?

The FAA's Flight Standards District Office is the regulatory agency for flight safety. The Scottsdale office can be reached by phoning 480.419.0111 or by visiting their website.

Whom do I contact about airline consumer issues?

The U.S. Department of Transportation oversees airline consumer issues such as denied boarding, lost baggage, overbooking, ticketing and statistics for on-time performance. This information, as well as information about shipping hazardous materials and other general travel-related questions, is addressed on the Aviation Consumer Protection website.

How many airports does Arizona have?

Arizona has 83 airports in the State System Plan: 58 publicly owned airports, 14 Native American-owned airports and 11 privately owned airports.

Does ADOT provide funding for private airports?

ADOT does not fund private airport development.

What funding is available for publicly owned airports?

ADOT provides funding to public airports to design and construct aviation facilities, acquire land for airport purposes and conduct planning and environmental studies. ADOT will fund 90 percent of a project to qualified public airports and half an airport's local share of a federally funded airport-development grant.

What do I do if I have a lost or destroyed aircraft?

If an aircraft that is registered in Arizona is lost or destroyed, the owner, the owner’s legal representative, or the insurer of the aircraft must inform MVD by filing a completed Aircraft Exemption Affidavit within 30 days of the loss or destruction. The lost or destroyed aircraft's registration expires when MVD receives the notification.

Upon written request of the owner of a lost or destroyed aircraft, one-twelfth of previously paid registration fees and license tax will be credited to the owner for each full month of the registration period that has not yet expired. The tax credit may be used on subsequent aircraft registration fees or license taxes owed by the owner. No refund will be issued for the credited fees and taxes. For further information, see ARS 28-8334 and 28-8343.

How do I request a hearing or appeal?

Requests for hearings on a decision must be made in writing within 30 days of the decision. Hearings will be scheduled and held in accordance with Title 41, Chapter 6, Article 6. Parties may appeal hearing decisions pursuant to Title 12, Chapter 7, Article 6.

What are the penalties for unpaid registration fees?

It is the responsibility of the owner to notify the Motor Vehicle Division Aircraft Registration Unit in writing

  • within 10 days of an address change.
  • within 60 days of when an aircraft is transferred or sold by filling out the back of the aircraft registration certificate and returning it.
  • within 60 days of when an aircraft is placed in storage to claim eligibility for the $20 stored-aircraft tax (sworn affidavit required).
  • immediately when a stored aircraft is returned to use.
  • within 30 days of when an aircraft is lost or destroyed.

For additional information concerning your specific aircraft registration, call 602.712.6995.

The Arizona Ombudsman – Citizens Aide helps you resolve ongoing issues with State Agencies.

Civil Rights

Pursuant to Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) and other nondiscrimination laws and authorities, ADOT does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, age, or disability. Persons that require a reasonable accommodation based on language or disability should contact ADOT’s Civil Rights Office at Requests should be made as early as possible to ensure the State has an opportunity to address the accommodation.

De acuerdo con el Título VI de la Ley de Derechos Civiles de 1964, la Ley de Estadounidenses con Discapacidades (ADA por sus siglas en inglés) y otras normas y leyes antidiscriminatorias, el Departamento de Transporte de Arizona (ADOT) no discrimina por motivos de raza, color, origen nacional, sexo, edad o discapacidad. Las personas que requieran asistencia (dentro de lo razonable) ya sea por el idioma o discapacidad deben ponerse en contacto con la Oficina de Derechos Civiles de ADOT en Las solicitudes deben hacerse lo más antes posible para asegurar que el Estado tenga la oportunidad de hacer los arreglos necesarios.