Project Map - Loop 202 (South Mountain Freeway)

Loop 202 South Mountain Freeway

Project Information
Stay In the Loop
Noise Testing
Shared-Use Path


To expedite completion of this project, the corridor has been broken down into four construction segments - I-10, Salt River, Center, and Pecos.  Features within each segment are detailed below:

Preliminary design maps of the future freeway can be found below. Please note these designs are dated Feb. 7, 2017 and are subject to change.

South Mountain Freeway Line Map 2019

I-10 Segment:
  • Direct High Occupancy Vehicle (HOV) ramps to I-10 East
  • Frontage roads along 59th Avenue
  • Three interchanges, plus a system interchange with I-10
  • 4.5 miles of widening and improvements to     I-10
Salt River Segment:
  • Six interchanges
  • Double-roundabout interchange at Estrella Drive
  • Pedestrian bridge near Elwood Street north of Broadway Road
  • Two 2,700-foot long bridge crossing the Salt River
Center Segment:
  • Freeway partially elevated to minimize the amount of earth removed from the mountains
  • Five multi-use underpass crossings, providing wildlife and Community members with connection points to the mountains and provide a crossing for a Maricopa County trail
Pecos Segment:
  • HOV ramp to Loop 202 (Santan Freeway)
  • Four interchanges
  • 6-mile, 20-foot wide shared-use path from 40th Street to 17th Avenue