Plates and Placards

License Plate saying: ORDER A PLATEPersonalized/Specialty Plates

Order Online Now

Select and order personalized and specialty plates online. Take a look at more than 60 plate styles and try out your favorite personalization to see if it’s available. It’s quick, convenient, and the best way to order your plate.

If your selection requires additional documentation and you are unable to order online you may fill out a special plate application. Please allow up to six weeks for processing.

Displaying Your Plate

It is unlawful to alter or modify an Arizona license plate. Your plate must be displayed on the rear of the vehicle with the following requirements: 

  • Must be displayed in a position so the license plate is clearly legible, securely attached to prevent swinging and at a height at least 12 inches from the ground to the bottom of the plate. The name of the state at the top of the plate cannot be obscured or covered. 
  • Temporary issued placards must also be displayed per the same requirements.

Plate Replacement

Arizona law requires a vehicle owner to replace any issued license plate that has become damaged, deteriorated, illegible or unreadable. This may be done at an MVD or Authorized Third Party office. One form of identification is required, and you must have the license plate and/or vehicle identification number. A $5 fee will be charged (plus postage and handling, if applicable). 

To transact by mail, send the plate application, with a check or money order for $5, plus postage and handling listed on the form.

For additional information, please see our Vehicle Services FAQ.

From the ADOT Blog

Examples of specialty license plates - Child Abuse Prevention, Childhood Cancer Research, Environmental, and Extroidinary Educators

How do specialty plates get started? Your elected leaders

March 6, 2018

We're taking you through the process that takes a specialty plate from idea to a rear bumper.  Full story ...  |  View all available plates