Traffic Alerts - I-17: Central Avenue Bridge Construction Project

North- and southbound Central Avenue will be closed at I-17 nightly from 8 p.m. to 5 a.m. Sunday, Nov. 7, through the morning of Friday, Nov. 12

The Arizona Department of Transportation advises drivers to plan ahead for closures of Interstate 17 near downtown Phoenix as work continues on the new bridge at Central Avenue. Motorists should also plan for the closure of nearby ramps.

Northbound I-17 between I-10 at the “Split” interchange and Seventh Avenue is scheduled to be closed nightly from 9 p.m. to 5 a.m. Monday, Oct. 25 and Tuesday, Oct. 26 and again Monday, Nov. 1 and Tuesday, Nov. 2. The following ramp closures will be in effect at the same time:

  • The northbound I-17 on-ramps at Seventh and 16th streets
  • The east- and westbound I-10 ramps to northbound I-17 at the I-10/I-17 “Split” interchange
    • Detour: Drivers should use westbound Interstate 10 between the I-17 “Split” near 24th Street and the I-10/I-17 “Stack” interchange.

Southbound I-17 is scheduled to be closed between Seventh Avenue and Seventh Street nightly from 9 p.m. to 5 a.m. Wednesday, Oct. 27 and Thursday, Oct. 28 and again Wednesday, Nov. 3 and Thursday, Nov. 4. The following ramp closures will be in effect at the same time:

  • The southbound  I-17 on-ramps at Seventh and 19th avenues
    • Detour: Drivers should use eastbound I-10 between the I-10/I-17 “Stack” interchange and the I-17 “Split” near 24th Street

North- and southbound Central Avenue will also be closed at I-17 nightly from 8 p.m. to 5 a.m. Sunday, Oct. 31, through the morning of Friday, Nov. 5, and again from Sunday, Nov. 7, through the morning of Friday, Nov. 12. Central Avenue will be open to southbound local traffic only between Buckeye Road and I-17, and to northbound local traffic only between Broadway Road and I-17 during the closures.

  • Detour: Central Avenue traffic will be detoured at Buckeye and Broadway roads to Seventh Avenue and Seventh Street.

ADOT advises drivers to slow down and use caution around construction personnel and equipment while work is underway.