
 
 

New Entrant Safety Assurance Program 
  
 

          
 

 

  

Then in 2003, Congress ordered DOT to conduct further 
audits aimed at new carriers, those just entering the 
trucking industry.  These “New Entrant” audits also focus on 
compliance, but emphasize education—rather than 
penalties—to achieve that end.  [385.309]  

New entrants  

The new entrant will be subject to the new-entrant safety 
monitoring procedures for a period of 18 months. During 
this 18-month period:  

 
(a) The new entrant's roadside safety performance will be 
closely monitored to ensure the new entrant has basic 
safety management controls that are operating effectively. 
A bad safety record during this time could trigger a safety 
audit or compliance review at any time.  

 

(b) A safety audit will be conducted on the new entrant, once 
it has been in operation for enough time to have sufficient 
records to allow the agency to evaluate the adequacy of its 
basic safety management controls. This period will generally 
be at least 3 months.   

 

Carriers who are new to interstate commerce must apply for a USDOT Number.  Its issuance is tentative and 
subject to an 18-month trial period during which the carrier will undergo a safety assurance review.  The 
review— often referred to as an audit—is intended to ensure that the new carrier understands the regulations 
that apply and has properly implemented the required provisions.  It’s more an educational tool than an 
enforcement action. Carriers can easily pass the review by understanding what is required and take steps in 
advance to comply.  

(c) All records and documents required for the safety audit 
shall be made available for inspection upon request by an 
individual certified under Federal Motor Carrier Safety 
Administration (FMCSA) regulations to perform safety 
audits.  In Arizona, Arizona Department of Transportation 
(ADOT) Enforcement and Compliance personnel fill that 
role.  

If the new entrant is determined to have adequate basic 
safety management controls, the FMCSA will provide the 
new entrant written notice of that as soon as practicable, but 
not later than 45 days after the completion of the audit. The 
new entrant's safety performance will continue to be closely 
monitored for the remainder of the 18-month period.  

Upon the completion of the safety audit, the auditor will 
review the findings with the new entrant.  

For decades, motor carriers regulated by the Federal Motor 
Carrier Safety Regulations (FMCSR) have been subject to 
audits by DOT.  The primary purpose of the audits—known 
as “Compliance Reviews”—is to ensure that those carriers 
are complying with the FMCSR.  Fines can be imposed for 
failure to do so.  

If the new entrant's basic safety management controls are  

(Continued on page 2)  

Following a new-entrant audit  

(e) Controlled substances and alcohol use and   
      testing requirements.  

 
(d) Accident register; and  
 

(c) Vehicle maintenance;  
 

(b) Driver duty status;  
 

(a) Driver qualification;  
 

[385.311]  The government identifies these new carriers through the 
USDOT Numbering system.  Because carriers are required 
to register for a USDOT Number prior to beginning interstate 
trucking operations, DOT classifies every first-time applicant 
as a “new entrant.”  

The safety audit will consist of a review of the new entrant's 
safety management systems and a sample of required 
records to assess compliance with the FMCSRs, applicable 
Hazardous Materials Regulations (HMRs) and related 
record-keeping requirements. The areas for review include, 
but are not limited to, the following:    

Makeup of a new-entrant audit 

Safety assurance audits  

  

http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/resources-for-carrier-companies
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/regulations/title49/section/385.309
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/regulations/title49/section/385.311
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/


 
 

 (Continued from page 1)  

deemed inadequate, FMCSA it will provide the new entrant 
written notice of that, as soon as practicable, but not later 
than 45 days after the completion of the safety audit The 
carrier’s USDOT new entrant registration is subject to being 
revoked and its operations placed out-of-service unless it 
takes the actions specified in the notice to remedy its safety 
management practices:  

 Within 45 days of the date of the notice if the new 
entrant transports passengers (in a commercial motor 
vehicle (CMV) designed or used to transport 16 or 
more passengers, including the driver), or transports 
hazardous materials requiring placarding;  
[385.319(c)(1)]  

— or —  

 Within 60 days of the date of the notice for all other 
new entrants.  [385.319(c)(2)]  

* More than 50% of the time  
‡ Applies only if driver is required to have a CDL 

For more information visit 
www.fmcsa.dot.gov 

Safety assurance standard 

Under the “safety assurance” standard, the FMCSA has 
identified 16 regulations as essential elements of basic 
safety management controls necessary to operate in 
interstate commerce and makes a carrier's failure to 
comply with any one of the 16 regulations an automatic 
failure of the safety audit.  

Those 16 items include:  

1. Failure to have a drug & alcohol screening 
 program (DASP) ‡  
2. Using a driver a BAC of greater than 0.04  
3. Using driver who refused a test  
4. Use driver who had a positive drug test  
5. Not having a random DASP ‡  
6. Using a driver who does not hold a CDL ‡  
7. Using a driver with an invalid CDL  
8. Using a disqualified driver  
9. Operating without proper insurance (freight)  
10. Operating without proper insurance (passenger)  
11. Using a disqualified driver  
12. Using a driver who is physically disqualified  
13. Failure to maintain a record of duty status*  
14. Using an out-of-Service vehicle  
15. Failure to correct an out-of-service violation  
16. Not periodically inspecting vehicles as required*  

 

Generally, carriers can be given up to 60 days to correct 
these violations, typically without a fine being issued.  

Additionally, if certain violations are discovered during a 
roadside inspection, the new entrant will be subject to 
expedited actions to correct these deficiencies.  

The FMCSA also checks compliance with the Americans 
with Disabilities Act and certain household goods-related 
requirements in the new entrant safety audit if they apply to 
the new entrant's operation. Failure to comply with either of 
these requirements will not affect the outcome of the safety 
audit; however, the Agency will take appropriate actions to 
improve compliance.  

These changes do not impose additional regulatory 
requirements on any new entrant carrier because these 
carriers are already required to comply with all such 
applicable rules.  

Getting Prepared 

 
You might be anxious about an upcoming audit and that’s 
natural. Keep in mind, however, that new entrant audits are 
intended to be educational and provide technical assistance.  
You’ll most likely be given time afterward to correct 
shortcomings.  
 
Some basic things you can do to prepare: 
 
1.  Get the rule book!  It’s one of the requirements.  
2.  Read it! At least familiarize yourself with it enough to 
     know where to find things.  
3.  Get record-keeping aids—from suppliers or off the 
     USDOT website.  Forms and files are available.  
4.  Review your records and gather information.  
5.  Ask questions.  Talk with the examiner before he or she 
     arrives.  Call ADOT and/or FMCSA.  
6.  Demonstrate an effort to comply with the rules!  
7.  If desperate, hire a consultant.  They’re out there.  

 
For questions regarding the New Entrant Safety Assurance Process, please contact the 

 
FMCSA Help Line at 800-832-1181 

newentrant@dot.gov 
 

AZ DOT New Entrant Program Office at 602-712-4388 
mailto:dsanders@azdot.gov 

 
Additional detailed informational guidance is available on-line at 

 
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/safety/new-entrant-safety-assurance-program and 

 
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/safety/carrier-safety/motor-carriers-guide-improving-highway-safety  

 

http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/regulations/title49/section/385.319
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/regulations/title49/section/385.319
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/
mailto:newentrant@dot.gov
mailto:dsanders@azdot.gov
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/safety/new-entrant-safety-assurance-program
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/safety/carrier-safety/motor-carriers-guide-improving-highway-safety


 

Insurance and economic documentation  [Part 387]  

 Form MCS-90 (or MCS-90B for passenger carriers) — 
insurance endorsement.   

 Form BOC-3 (designation of process agents).  (If one 
cannot be located in your current insurance policy, 
contact your agent and have one forwarded to you.  A 
copy will be taken of this form during the audit.)  

Controlled substances and alcohol testing 
administrative records  [Part 382]  

 If you are enrolled with a consortium, obtain from the 
consortium and have available for review the 
consortium's current list of drivers for your company.   

 Your company's Controlled Substances and Alcohol 
Testing Policy.   

 Quarterly/semi-annual summaries (from the 
laboratory) of Controlled Substances and Alcohol 
Tests for the prior year.  

 Annual calendar year summary for the prior year.  

Driver qualifications  [Part 391]  

 Driver qualification files for all drivers used within the 
past 12 months.    

o Application; accurately and completely filled out  

   [391.21] 
o  10-year employment history for CDL drivers  

   [391.21b(11)]  
o  Previous employer history check; 3-year  

 [391.21b(10)]  

o Previous employer drug/alcohol check; 2-year  

   [391.23(e)]  
o Current medical card/certificate [391.43]  
o Copy of CDL or road test for non-CDL drivers  

[391.33], [391.31] 
o Annual driving record; 3-year history [391.23(a)(1)] 
o Annual review of driving record [391.25]  
o Annual certification of violations; completed by 

         Driver [391.27] 

 If your company operates with drivers assigned to 
various locations or functions, be prepared to identify 
each driver's status (i.e., terminal location; commercial 
zone vs. long haul; van vs. flat bed operations; leased 
vs. company, etc.).  

Hours of service  [Part 395]  

 A driver-specific listing showing assigned units and 
account numbers for phone and/or fuel charges for all 
drivers, including leased operators, used within the past 
six months.  

 Records of duty status for previous six months for all 
drivers, including leased operators.    

 All supporting documents for previous six months of all 
drivers (i.e., trip envelopes, driver expense receipts, 
telephone records, fuel reports, dispatch logs, payroll 
records, bills of lading, etc.) 

Equipment/Maintenance  [Part 396]  

 A list showing all equipment owned/leased/trip leased 
and operated in intrastate and interstate commerce for 
previous 12 months.  Designate type of equipment – 
trucks, truck-tractors, trailers, HM cargo tank trucks, HM 
cargo tank trailers, and buses.    

 If applicable, indicate terminal locations and/or date  
       removed from service.  

 Maintenance files and records for each unit, including 
leased units.  Include evidence of annual inspections, 
repair receipts, maintenance schedules, qualifications 
of persons performing annual inspections and/or brake 
repair and adjustments.    

 Copies of drivers' daily vehicle inspection reports for the 
last three months.  

Hazardous materials records (if applicable)  

 Current copy of the DOT/RSPA HM registration 
[107.608] 

 HM training materials and records of such training 
[172.704]  

 Copy of the most recent shipping document for each 

class of materials transported [172.201] 

General  [Part 390]  

 Show availability of current copy of FMCSA Safety 
Regulations book or FMCSA.dot.gov online. 

 Have USDOT# properly displayed on vehicles 
[390.21] 

 Accident records  [Part 390]  

 Records related to accidents for the past 365 days, 
including an accident register. 

 Accident reports for recordable accidents (retain for 
3 years.)  Includes accidents involving:  

o Fatalities;  
o Injuries treated away from the scene; 
o Tow-away due to disabling damage. 

 Your damage/loss run from your insurance company 
and/or any State accident reports maintained.  
Include all accidents resulting in fatality, injury, 
and/or tow – regardless of whether or not your driver 
or leased driver was found to have been "at fault."   

Also, visit the internet at: 

http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/safety/new-entrant-safety-assurance-program 

 

http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/regulations/title49/section/387.1
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http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/regulations/title49/section/391.21
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/regulations/title49/section/391.21
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http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/regulations/title49/section/391.23
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/regulations/title49/section/391.25
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http://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-idx?SID=1d38d2fbd5e46de8db7fdd3b8e4c2545&node=49:2.1.1.3.9.8.25.4&rgn=div8
http://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-idx?SID=1d38d2fbd5e46de8db7fdd3b8e4c2545&node=49:2.1.1.3.9.3.25.2&rgn=div8
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/regulations/title49/section/390.1
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/regulations/title49/section/390.21
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/regulations/title49/section/390.1
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/safety/new-entrant-safety-assurance-program


 

Driver’s application for employment  

[391.21] A person will not be allowed to drive a 
commercial motor vehicle unless he/she has completed 
and signed an application for employment.  

Inquiry to previous employers—3 years  

[391.23(A) (2) & (C)] An investigation of the driver's 
employment record during the preceding three years. 
This investigation must be made within 30 days of the 
date employment begins.  

Inquiry to state agencies—3 years  

[391.23(A)(1) & (B)] The driver's driving record for the 
preceding three years.  

Inquiry to state agencies—annual  

[391.25(A) & (C)] Request driving record 
annually for each driver.  

Annual review of driving record  

[391.25] At least once every 12 months, a motor carrier 
must review the driving record of each driver. A note 
stating the results of this review shall be included in the 
Driver's Qualification File.  

Annual driver’s certification of violations  

[391.27] At least once every 12 months, a motor carrier 
must require each driver that it employs to prepare and 
furnish it with a list of all violations of motor vehicle traffic 
laws and ordinances during the previous 12 months. 
Note: Drivers who have provided information required by 
[383.31] need not repeat that information in this annual 
list of violations.  

Driver’s road test certification or equivalent  

[391.31] A person must not be allowed to drive a 
commercial motor vehicle until he/she has successfully 
completed a road test and has been issued a certificate, 
or a copy of the license or certificate which the motor 
carrier accepted as equivalent to the driver's road test 
pursuant to [391.33].  

Medical examiner’s certificate  

[391.43] The driver must pass a medical examination 
conducted by a licensed health care professional. A driver 
must be issued a Medical Examiner's Certificate, which 
must be carried at all times. This certificate must be 
renewed every two years unless more frequent renewals 
are required according to regulatory standards. 

Multiple-employer drivers  

[391.63] If a motor carrier employs a person as a driver on 
any basis, the motor carrier must have on file the driver's 
name, social security number, identification number, type, 
issuing state of his/her motor vehicle operator's license, 
medical certificate, road test and certificate, and 
controlled substance test results, even if that driver's 
primary employment is with another carrier.  

Drivers furnished by other motor carriers -- A motor carrier 
using a driver regularly employed by another motor carrier 
must have on file a signed written certificate that includes 
the driver's name and signature, certification of the driver's 
full qualifications, and expiration date of the driver's 
medical examiner's certificate. Compliance with drug and 
alcohol program requirements is also required.  

 

Detail on these regulations – including necessary forms – is available 

in the manual titled “A Motor Carrier’s Guide to Improving Highway 

Safety” on the USDOT website at: 

http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/safety/carrier-safety/motor-carriers-

guide-improving-highway-safety 
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