

# **VEHICLE USER HANDBOOK**

## For all state agencies we support fleet services for!

## 24-HOUR ROADSIDE ASSISTANCE Hotline Contact Number is 877.800.8520

## ARIZONA TRAVEL SAFETY TIPS

- Extra Water: Take at least one gallon of drinking water per person when you travel, especially in the summer.
- Winter Travel: Take drinking water, a blanket, gloves, hat and extra pair of socks and a warm coat. Always bring a cell phone; it's important that you bring a cell phone with a phone charger when traveling.
- Also when traveling, always bring your wallet or purse, credit cards and the state fuel card.

## FOR ARIZONA ROAD CONDITIONS Call 5-1-1 Statewide — 24 hours 7 days a week

## Table of Contents

PAGE

CHAPTER 1 Equipment Services — What We Do	1
CHAPTER 2 Vehicle Operator Responsibilities	4
CHAPTER 3 Where and How to Obtain Fuel	6
<b>CHAPTER 4</b> Vehicle Accidents — What To Do	8
<b>CHAPTER 5</b> Vehicle Breakdowns — What To Do	9

#### APPENDIX

ADOT Equipment Services Statewide Shop Locations QR Code	A-1	10
Statewide Fuel Locations QR Code	A-1	10
Equipment Services Contact Information	B-1	11

#### ADOT EQUIPMENT SERVICES – GENERAL INFORMATION

#### <u>Welcome</u>

On June 30, 2021 - Governor Doug Ducey signed Laws 2021, 1st Regular Session, Chapter 413 (Senate Bill 1829) which transferred the state fleet operations from the Department of Administration (ADOA) to the Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT). This vehicle user handbook serves as a communication tool to assist employees operating state vehicles and includes important information about traveling in a state vehicle on state business.

Not all fleet information can be found in this guide, but it includes important contact numbers and other helpful information about traveling while in a state vehicle. For additional fleet operational information to include the State Fleet Rules, Risk Management accident claims, fuel credit card requests, and other important fleet items, please visit our website at:

- ADOT employees please visit: <a href="mailto:adotnet.az.gov/our-agency/administrative-services/equipment-services">adotnet.az.gov/our-agency/administrative-services</a>
- Enterprise Agency Fleet employees please visit: <u>azdot.gov/business/</u> <u>equipment-services</u>
- Non ADOT managed fleet employees: Check with your agency fleet personnel

This Vehicle User Handbook should be kept in your state vehicle at all times (the glove box is the preferred location).

ADOT Equipment Services is your vehicle fleet service provider for everything related to your state vehicle which includes routine vehicle maintenance, windshield replacement, vehicle accident claim assistance, up- fitting/modification requests, emissions/recalls and all other vehicle related services. Our mission is to keep your vehicle safe and in good working order. Our shops are equipped with state-of-the-art equipment and the majority of our technicians are Automotive Service Excellence (ASE) certified in automotive, heavy truck and heavy off-road equipment.

Equipment Services is an industry leading fleet operation with nearly 200 employees with vehicle technicians, parts personnel and other important support oriented fleet operational employees.

Please feel free to call one of our repair shops directly to schedule an appointment for service. (Appendix A-1)

ADOT Equipment Services is headquartered in Phoenix, Arizona – we also have 20 additional equipment repair shops located around the state.

Equipment Services requests that you read this handbook before you travel in a state vehicle.

#### Preventive Maintenance (PM) Appointment

Per Arizona State Fleet Rule, operators shall follow ADOT's preventive maintenance established scheduled intervals. Vehicles shall be turned in to an ADOT equipment shop, on time for all preventative maintenance activities, repair requests, and for warranty/manufacturer recalls. The Equipment Services Preventative Maintenance program includes a comprehensive vehicle inspection overview to ensure your vehicle is safe and in good working order.

Be mindful and check the mileage and date for upcoming services. Service interval information can be found on the small service decal located on the upper left-hand corner of the vehicle's windshield. If you cannot locate the service decal feel free to contact one of our equipment shops so they can review the vehicle service data information.

#### <u>Repair</u>

If something seems to be wrong with your vehicle, or if you hear a strange noise or see something that doesn't look right, please call or bring the vehicle to the nearest Equipment Services repair shop; no appointment is necessary.

If you decide to wait at one of our shops for your vehicle during maintenance or service activities, please understand that you may be requested to leave the vehicle with the shop if a safety related item is found. State Rule mandates that our equipment shop must repair all safety related items before the vehicle is placed back into service.

Prior to any ADOT or Enterprise Agency Fleet vehicle being brought in to a commercial vendor for maintenance or repairs, you must contact the nearest Equipment Services repair shop for authorization.

#### Vehicle Repair Status

Equipment Services will provide daily repair updates to customers but feel free to contact the shop for more information about repair timelines, etc.

#### <u>Tires</u>

Prior to traveling, the operator is responsible for ensuring that each vehicle has a functional spare tire, the vehicle has a jack, lug wrench and important emergency phone numbers. Refer to the vehicle's manufacturer manual for specific information on changing a tire. Feel free to contact an Equipment Services shop, or the Roadside Assistance hotline at **877.800.8520**.

#### Vehicle Rental Information

**ADOT Employees:** In the Phoenix area, ADOT employees can rent a motor pool vehicle located at the ADOT Automated Motor Pool. Access the Automated Motor Pool by going to the ADOTNET or call 602.542.3110 for more information.

**Enterprise Agency Fleet Employees:** Agencies with fleet assets that are managed by ADOT, please contact the ADOT Capitol Mall Equipment Shop at 602.542.3110. The shop at that location can explain more about vehicle rental processes.

#### **Customer Service Survey and Complaints**

All Equipment Services customers will receive an automated email survey each time a vehicle is serviced or repaired. As part of our continuous improvement efforts, we encourage all of our customers to complete the survey. Please note on the survey if you'd like for us to contact you and to hear more about your experience. We also encourage your ideas; we love to hear from our customers!

**For ADOT employees or agencies that are managed by ADOT for fleet services:** The ADOT Equipment Shop will inform you on how to obtain emissions testing and will provide you with an emissions coupon.

#### Vehicle Emission Testing

All vehicles assigned to the Maricopa or in Pima County must be ADEQ emissions tested in accordance with Arizona state law for vehicle emissions. Prior to taking the vehicle to any testing station, the vehicle operator must obtain an emission inspection coupon first. Coupons can be obtained from the following Equipment Services repair shops: Phoenix Service Center, Phoenix Capitol Mall, ADOT Game & Fish Shop, Mesa Shop, Avondale Shop and the Tucson Grant Road Shop. For these shop addresses and contact information, please see the back of this booklet for a QR code. (A1)

After the vehicle successfully passes the emissions test, the operator must return to the shop where they received the coupon and present the Vehicle Inspection Report Compliance Certificate to them so the vehicle records can be updated.

If the vehicle fails an emissions test, the operator must bring the vehicle back to the Equipment Services shop along with the Vehicle Rejection Notice, which includes the reason for the emissions failure. Please return to the shop where you received the emissions test coupon and provide the shop with the emissions testing failure documentation.

#### Car Wash Services

Car Wash services can be paid for by using the state fleet fuel card; please see your supervisor for details and for approval.

#### VEHICLE OPERATOR RESPONSIBILITIES

#### Use of State-owned Vehicle

State-owned vehicles can be used for official state business only. All state laws must be followed when operating a state owned vehicle. In addition, please check with your agency on any specific "vehicle use policies" prior to operating a state vehicle. GPS fleet systems may be connected to state owned vehicles — operators should not have an expectation of privacy when operating a state vehicle.

State-owned vehicles shall be stored overnight at state office locations, agency headquarters, or at the location where an employee is lodged overnight while on travel status. Any exceptions to where state vehicles are parked, to include employees dispatched from their residence daily, must submit a "Domicile To Duty" request and be approved prior to having a vehicle located at the employee's residence on a normal cadence. Intermittent Domicile to Duty shall be managed by the operator's agency Division Director – Domicile to Duty requests that are submitted to ADOT (for all State Fleet vehicles) are for operators wishing to dispatch a state vehicle from their home on a normal basis. As part of the Domicile to Duty requests procedure, the agency's Director (or their designee) will be contacted and included in the request process. Domicile to Duty requests for dispatching from an employee's home on a normal cadence must be for the best interest of the state.

All state vehicle operators must be 18 years or older, legally responsible for his or her actions, and subject to the agency's direction and control.

Family members, friends and pets of state employees shall not ride in state vehicles. Non state employees shall not operate state vehicles.

No hitchhikers are permitted in any state-owned vehicles. Certain emergency situation may apply, please check Arizona state Fleet Rules.

#### **Obligation of the Law**

Employees operating state-owned vehicles shall obey all state traffic laws.

State employees are responsible for all traffic citations while operating a state vehicle.

#### **Courteous State Drivers**

State employees operating state owned vehicles are highly visible to the public and employees must be courteous and safe while operating a state owned vehicle.

#### State Vehicle Security

Safeguard state vehicles, fuel credit cards and keys against theft or misuse. Employees shall lock up the vehicle and secure all state owned items and remove them from the vehicle and take them with you when you leave the vehicle. Employees must report all lost, damaged or stolen property to include fuel credit cards, license plates, keys or when the vehicle has been vandalized. A Risk Management Claim Form must be submitted within 24 hours of the damage or loss to a state vehicle. Please check with your Risk Management manager for more information.

#### State Vehicle Care and Maintenance

State employees play an important role in maintaining state vehicles. A general walk around inspection should be conducted before each drive to make sure the tires are inflated, there isn't anything leaking from the vehicle and the general appearance looks good and there are no dents or large scratches on the vehicle. Please find the Equipment Services safety walk around video at <u>azdot.gov/</u><u>business/equipment-services</u>.

#### WHERE AND HOW TO OBTAIN FUEL

#### There are two procedures to obtain fuel.

#### 1. ADOT only

- Driver must be an ADOT employee.
- A list of all ADOT fuel locations is provided in (Appendix A-1).
- To save \$.15 to \$.80 per gallon, all state employees are strongly encouraged to use ADOT's statewide fuel sites.
- To set a new Personal Identification Number (PIN) code, this must be performed at the fuel island dispenser/card reader, (see below "establishing a PIN" for instructions).

**Note:** When using the ADOT Phoenix Capitol Mall fuel island to set up a new fuel PIN code, drivers must use hoses 1, 2, 5 or 6.

**Gate Access:** ADOT Employee Identification Number (EIN) is required for gate access.

#### ADOT fueling with an established PIN

- Turn the engine OFF and <u>do not</u> use your cell phone while fueling your vehicle.
- Please be sure you are using the correct method when obtaining fuel at the station.
- Verify your PIN prior to traveling. If you forgot your PIN, you will need to set up a new one. Contact ADOT Fuel Systems Management at 602.712.6526.

#### Fueling Instructions with an established PIN

- 1. Press ENTER to begin.
- 2. Enter the current odometer or hour meter reading and press ENTER.
- 3. Enter vehicle number and press ENTER.
- 4. Enter your 10-digit Driver ID **ENTER** (Driver's current 6-digit EIN and 4 character PIN).
- 5. Enter hose number and press ENTER.
- 6. Begin fueling.

#### Setting up your 4 digit PIN Instructions

- 1. Press ENTER button to begin
- 2. Enter the current odometer or hour meter reading and press ENTER
- 3. Enter vehicle number and press ENTER
- Enter Driver ID (6-digit EIN, if your EIN is 5 digits, enter a leading zero) and press ENTER
- 5. Enter hose number and press **ENTER** Message "BAD DRIVER ID" along with smaller print "ENTER DRIVER ID WITH

NEW PIN CODE" appears on the screen

- Enter driver's 6-digit EIN followed by 4-digit PIN of your choosing (alpha/ numeric combination allowed) and press ENTER
   This is your new 10-digit DRIVER ID
   Message "BAD DRIVER ID" "CONFIRM DRIVER ID WITH NEW PIN CODE" appears on the screen
- 7. Again, enter your 10-digit driver ID and press **ENTER** Screen should illustrate BAD DRIVER ID message with "PIN CODE UPDATED" in smaller print
- 8. Again, enter your 10-digit driver ID and press **ENTER** *Screen should now display begin fueling*
- 9. Start fueling vehicle

#### 2. Non-ADOT Fleet Agencies (Enterprise Agency Fleet customers)

- Fleet Fuel Cards: The State of Arizona is contracted with Wright Express (WEX), to offer agencies the option of using a fleet card to purchase fuel at ADOT or at retail stations
- All state agencies are encouraged to use ADOT fuel sites due to the reduced per gallon costs

#### Gate Access: Non-ADOT Agencies (Enterprise Agency Fleet customers)

 The fleet fuel card is required for gate access where applicable operators should call specific yards prior to traveling to ensure after-hour gate access is available

#### Fleet Fuel Card Fueling Instructions at an ADOT Fuel Site

- 1. Insert and remove the state fleet fuel card
- 2. Enter your vehicle's current odometer (or hour reading for equipment). Press **ENTER.**
- 3. Enter prompt request. Press ENTER.
- 4. Enter the hose number for the pump you will be using. Press ENTER.
- 5. Begin fueling

**Note:** Please contact Equipment Services Fuel Systems Management at 602.712.6526 with any fueling problems or questions.

#### VEHICLE ACCIDENTS — WHAT TO DO

#### **ADOT/Enterprise Agency Fleet Vehicle Accidents**

- Safely stop and turn vehicle off. Call 911 and follow instructions coming from the operator.
- If there are no serious physical injuries or fatalities and the vehicle is safely moveable, remove the vehicle from the main traveled portion of the road onto the shoulder, emergency lane, median or other safe refuge.
- Refer to the instructions found in the ADOT accident packet located in the glove box.
- Notify your supervisor as soon as possible.
- Report an accident within one day if the incident involving any injury to a
  person or if you expect the issue to involve property damage in excess of
  \$10,000.00. As soon as possible and <u>no more than 10 days</u>, complete and
  submit the Automobile Loss Report to include supporting documentation
  and photos and submit to the Equipment Services Risk Management
  Department.

#### DO NOT:

- 1. Comment on who was at fault.
- 2. Argue with other drivers or police.
- 3. Discuss the accident with anyone (only talk with law enforcement authorities, The Risk Management Department and your supervisor).

#### All Other Agency Accidents

• Notify appropriate personnel as per agency policy.

#### VEHICLE BREAKDOWNS — WHAT TO DO

#### **Breakdown Procedures**

In the event of a breakdown, your first responsibility is to your own safety. Please move your vehicle off the road as safely as possible.

If a Check Engine light comes on, contact the nearest Equipment Services repair shop right away (Appendix A-1) if after hours or contact the 24-HOUR Roadside Assistance Hotline as soon as possible for direction.

#### **During Normal Working Hours**

To request vehicle breakdown service Monday-Friday during normal working hours, use the following procedures:

- Call the nearest Equipment Services repair shop closest to your location. (Appendix A-1)
- Your supervisor to advise them of your status.

#### **After Normal Working Hours**

To request vehicle breakdown service Monday-Friday after-hours, and on weekends and/or holidays, use the following procedures:

- Call the 24-HOUR Roadside Assistance Hotline at 877.800.8520.
- The 24-HOUR Roadside Assistance representative will arrange for a tow truck to be dispatched to your location. In most breakdown cases, the vehicle will be towed to the nearest Equipment Services repair shop.
- Please call your agency supervisor to advise them of your status.
- You may ride in the tow vehicle to the nearest Equipment Services repair shop.
- You are responsible for your own transportation from the Equipment Services repair shop back to your agency or residence.
- At the time of service, you are not expected to pay for the services rendered.

## **APPENDIX A-1**

## STATEWIDE EQUIPMENT SERVICES EQUIPMENT SHOP AND FUELING LOCATIONS

Because contact and site specific information changes so frequently, the information for both shop locations, fuel site locations and other site information can be located by using your smart phone on the below QR codes. By opening your camera portion of the smart phone, point the phone at the QR code and wait for the website to open with the contact information. If you have any issues accessing the QR Code information please use the listed contact information within this booklet.

## The below QR code will access all of the ADOT Equipment Shops located around the state:



azdot.gov/statewide-equipment-shops

The below QR code will access all of the ADOT fueling locations around the state:



### **APPENDIX B-1**

## ADOT EQUIPMENT SERVICES MANAGEMENT TEAM CONTACT INFORMATION:

CONTACT	OFFICE PHONE
Equipment Services Administrator	602.712.6524
Vehicle Maintenance Operations Manager	602.712.6711
Fleet Manager	602.712.7284
Fuel Systems Manager / Fleet Fuel Card Manager	602.712.6526
Fleet Management Information Systems Manager	602.712.2155

