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The Department updates the information contained in this document on an as needed basis. Please visit the Arizona Secretary of 
State’s Arizona Administrative Register for rule notice filings and publication of the Department’s most recent rulemaking activity. 
Please visit the Arizona Governor’s Regulatory Review Council website for information about Council meetings and pending items 
available for public comment. 
 
Click to view Current Rulemaking Activity, Completed Rulemaking Activity, Rule Review Reports, and Notice of Proposed Expedited 
Rulemaking 
 

 
 

Current Rulemaking Activity 
 
Pursuant to A.R.S. § 41-1039, the Department received authorization on April 2, 2024, from the Governor’s Office to proceed with this 
rulemaking. 

Rule Package: Aircraft Registration (New) 
  

Title: 
Chapter: 

Article(s): 
Section(s): 

17, Transportation 
2, Department of Transportation - Aeronautics 
3, Aircraft Registration 
R17-2-301 and R17-2-302 (Sections may be added, deleted, or modified as necessary.) 

A.A.R. Citation: Notice of Rulemaking Docket Opening:  
 Notice of Proposed Rulemaking:  
 Notice of Final Rulemaking:  

Description: The Department engages in this rulemaking to implement a section of Laws 2022, Chapter 264 (HB2481), which 
requires the Department to adopt rules necessary for the implementation of staggered aircraft registration. 
This rulemaking will help create a consistency in application of aircraft registration. 

Comments: COlson2@azdot.gov 
Oral Proceeding: To be determined 
Close of Record: To be determined 

Council Date: To be determined Rule Effective Date*: To be determined 
  

 
Pursuant to A.R.S. § 41-1039, the Department received authorization on March 7, 2024, from the Governor’s Office to proceed with this 
rulemaking. 

Rule Package: Motor Carrier Safety: Incorporation of Federal Regulations to Chapter 4 (Amend) 
  

Title: 
Chapter: 

Article(s): 
Section(s): 

17, Transportation 
4, Department of Transportation - Title, Registration, and Driver Licenses 
5, Safety and 7, Hazardous Materials Endorsement 
R17-4-508 and R17-4-701 through R17-4-712 (Sections may be added, deleted, or modified as necessary.) 

A.A.R. Citation: Notice of Rulemaking Docket Opening:  
 Notice of Proposed Rulemaking:  
 Notice of Final Rulemaking:  

Description: The Department, in partnership with the Arizona Department of Public Safety, engages in this rulemaking to 
incorporate a more recent edition of the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations and Hazardous Materials 
Regulations in the Code of Federal Regulations. These regulations include the physical qualifications of 
commercial driver license holders and the issuance of the hazardous materials endorsement. 

Comments: COlson2@azdot.gov 
Oral Proceeding: To be determined 
Close of Record: To be determined 

Council Date: To be determined Rule Effective Date*: To be determined 
  

 
  

https://www.azsos.gov/rules/arizona-administrative-register
https://grrc.az.gov/
https://www.azleg.gov/legtext/55leg/2R/laws/0264.pdf
https://apps.azleg.gov/BillStatus/BillOverview/76983
mailto:COlson2@azdot.gov?subject=Laws%202022,%20Ch.%20264%20-%20Aircraft%20Registration
mailto:COlson2@azdot.gov?subject=Motor%20Carrier%20Safety:%20Incorporation%20of%20Federal%20Regulations%20-%20Ch.%204,%20Arts.%205%20and%207
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Pursuant to A.R.S. § 41-1039, the Department received authorization on March 7, 2024, from the Governor’s Office to proceed with this 
rulemaking. 

Rule Package: Motor Carrier Safety: Incorporation of Federal Regulations to Chapter 5(Amend) 
  

Title: 
Chapter: 

Article(s): 
Section(s): 

17, Transportation 
5, Department of Transportation - Commercial Programs 
2, Motor Carriers and 3, Professional Driver Services 
R17-5-201 through R17-5-212 and R17-5-302 and R17-5-303 (Sections may be added, deleted, or modified as 
necessary.) 

A.A.R. Citation: Notice of Rulemaking Docket Opening:  
 Notice of Proposed Rulemaking:  
 Notice of Final Rulemaking:  

Description: The Department, in partnership with the Arizona Department of Public Safety, engages in this rulemaking to 
incorporate a more recent edition of the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations and Hazardous Materials 
Regulations in the Code of Federal Regulations. The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration requires that 
each state adopt Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations to ensure eligibility for federal enforcement grants. 

Comments: COlson2@azdot.gov 
Oral Proceeding: To be determined 
Close of Record: To be determined 

Council Date: To be determined Rule Effective Date*: To be determined 
  

 
Pursuant to A.R.S. § 41-1039, the Department received authorization on April 2, 2024, from the Governor’s Office to proceed with this 
rulemaking. 

Rule Package: Third-Party Programs Updates (Amend) 
  

Title: 
Chapter: 

Article(s): 
 

Section(s): 

17, Transportation 
7, Department of Transportation – Third-party Programs 
1, Definitions; 2, Authorization; 3, Certification; 4, Audits and Inspection; 6, Commercial Driver License 
Examination Program; and 7, Driver License Training Provider Program 
R17-7-101, R17-7-201 through R17-7-204, R17-7-301 through R17-7-303, R17-7-401, R17-7-601, R17-7-603 
through R17-7-606, and R17-7-702 through R17-7-705 (Sections may be added, deleted, or modified as 
necessary.) 

A.A.R. Citation: Notice of Rulemaking Docket Opening: Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on April 18, 2024 
 Notice of Proposed Expedited Rulemaking: Go to NPERM - 1 
 Notice of Final Rulemaking:  

Description: The Department engages in this expedited rulemaking to incorporate the changes proposed in the 
Department’s five-year review report, approved by the Governor’s Regulatory Review Council on November 7, 
2023. This includes updates and improvements that better reflect current program processes and needs and to 
update for Laws 2021, Chapter 99, which allows authorized third-party driver license providers to perform 
functions related to the issuance and renewal of commercial driver licenses. 

Comments: COlson2@azdot.gov 
Oral Proceeding: May 22, 2024 

10:30 a.m. 
 
Google Meet: Phone:  +1 478-449-4121 PIN:  591 671 800# 

Web address:  https://meet.google.com/wgg-drmk-exb 
 
This meeting will be held virtually. Virtual access will be provided through Google Meet. Persons may access this 
meeting via the phone number or web address provided above. It is not necessary to have a Google account to 
participate in this meeting when joining from a web browser on a computer or laptop. Any changes to the 
meeting information will be posted here at least 24 hours in advance of the meeting. If you have any questions 
regarding this, please contact the person listed above. 

Close of Record: May 22, 2024 
Council Date: To be determined Rule Effective Date*: To be determined 

  

 
*Rule effective dates are approximate. Generally, rules become effective sixty days after filing a Notice of Final Rulemaking with the 
Office of the Secretary of State. However, under certain circumstances, in accordance with A.R.S. § 41-1032, the agency may demonstrate 
that the rules need to be effective immediately upon filing.  

mailto:COlson2@azdot.gov?subject=Motor%20Carrier%20Safety:%20Incorporation%20of%20Federal%20Regulations%20-%20Ch.%205,%20Arts.%202%20and%203
https://grrc.az.gov/sites/default/files/2023-10/November%20Final%20Files%20amended.pdf#page=835
mailto:COlson2@azdot.gov?subject=Third-Party%20Programs%20Updates
https://meet.google.com/wgg-drmk-exb
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Completed Rulemaking Activity 
 

The Department’s entire completed rulemaking activities are codified in the Arizona Administrative Code. 
 

Back to Top 
 
 
 

Rule Review Reports 
 

2024 Reports 

Report  
  

Title: 
Chapter: 

Article(s): 

17, Transportation 
8, Department of Transportation - Fuel Taxes 
4, Electronic Funds Transfers and 5, Electronic Fuel Tax Reporting 

Submitted Report: Filed January 17, 2024 
Due Date: January 2024 Council Approval Date: To be determined 

  

 

Report  
  

Title: 
Chapter: 

Article(s): 

17, Transportation 
1, Department of Transportation - Administration 
1, General Provisions; 2, Fees; 3, Taxes; 5, Administrative Hearings; 6, Solicitation; and 7, Advertising and 
Sponsorship Program 

Submitted Report: Filed February 28, 2024 
Due Date: February 2024 Council Approval Date: To be determined 

  

 

Report  
  

Title: 
Chapter: 

Article(s): 

17, Transportation 
2, Department of Transportation - Aeronautics 
1, General Provisions and 2, Grand Canyon National Park Airport - Operation and Management 

Submitted Report: Filed February 28, 2024 
Due Date: February 2024 Council Approval Date: To be determined 

  

 

Report  
  

Title: 
Chapter: 

Article(s): 

17, Transportation 
3, Department of Transportation - Highways 
2, Management of Contractor Bidding; 3, Relocation Assistance; 5, Highway Encroachments and Permits; 7, 
Highway Beautification; 8, Arizona Parkways and Historic and Scenic Roads, and 9, Highway Traffic Control 
Devices 

Submitted Report: To be determined 
Due Date: September 2024 Council Approval Date: To be determined 

  

 

Report  
  

Title: 
Chapter: 

Article(s): 

17, Transportation 
4, Department of Transportation - Title, Registration, and Driver Licenses 
5, Safety 

Submitted Report: To be determined 
Due Date: November 2024 Council Approval Date: To be determined 

  

https://apps.azsos.gov/public_services/CodeTOC.htm#ID17
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2023 Reports 

Report  
  

Title: 
Chapter: 

Article(s): 

17, Transportation 
4, Department of Transportation - Title, Registration, and Driver Licenses 
4, Driver Licenses 

Submitted Report: September Final Files: Item F-5 
Due Date: January 2023; Extended to May 2023 Council Approval Date: September 6, 2023 

  

 

Report  
  

Title: 
Chapter: 

Article(s): 

17, Transportation 
8, Department of Transportation - Fuel Taxes 
6, Motor Fuel Refunds 

Submitted Report: April Final Files:  Item D-6 
Due Date: January 2023 Council Approval Date: April 4, 2023 

  

 

Report  
  

Title: 
Chapter: 

Article(s): 

17, Transportation 
6, Department of Transportation - Oversize and Overweight Special Permits 
1, General Provisions; 2, Special Permit Classes and Fees; 3, Safety Requirements; 4, Transport Provisions; and 
5, Envelope Permit Special Provisions 

Submitted Report: May Final Files:  Item E-1 
Due Date: March 2023 Council Approval Date: May 2, 2023 

  

 

Report  
  

Title: 
Chapter: 

Article(s): 

17, Transportation 
4, Department of Transportation - Title, Registration, and Driver Licenses 
1, General Provisions; 2, Vehicle Title; and 3, Vehicle Registration 

Submitted Report: November  Final Files: Item D-2 
Due Date: June 2023 Council Approval Date: November 7, 2023 

  

 

Report  
  

Title: 
Chapter: 

Article(s): 

17, Transportation 
7, Department of Transportation - Third-Party Programs 
1, Definitions; 2, Authorization; 3, Certification; 4, Audits and Inspection; 6, Commercial Driver License 
Examination Program; and 7, Driver License Training Provider Program 

Submitted Report: November Final Files: Item D-3 
Due Date: July 2023 Council Approval Date: November 7, 2023 

  

 

Report  
  

Title: 
Chapter: 

Article(s): 

17, Transportation 
1, Department of Transportation - Administration 
4, State Fleet Operations 

Submitted Report: January Final Files: Item D-2 
Due Date: September 2023 Council Approval Date: January 3, 2024 

  

 

https://grrc.az.gov/sites/default/files/2023-09/9.1.2023%20September%20Final%20Files.pdf#page=1001
https://grrc.az.gov/sites/default/files/2023-04/4.4.2023%20April%20Final%20Files.pdf#page=985
https://grrc.az.gov/sites/default/files/2023-04/May%20Final%20Files.pdf#page=375
https://grrc.az.gov/sites/default/files/2023-10/November%20Final%20Files%20amended.pdf#page=676
https://grrc.az.gov/sites/default/files/2023-10/November%20Final%20Files%20amended.pdf#page=835
https://grrc.az.gov/sites/default/files/2023-12/January%20Final%20Files_0.pdf#page=519
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Report  
  

Title: 
Chapter: 

Article(s): 

17, Transportation 
3, Department of Transportation - Highways 
6, Telecommunication Facilities 

Submitted Report: Filed December 22, 2023 
Due Date: December 2023 Council Approval Date: To be determined 

  

 
 
2022 Reports 

Report  
  

Title: 
Chapter: 

Article(s): 

17, Transportation 
5, Department of Transportation - Commercial Programs 
10, Vehicle for Hire 

Submitted Report: June Final Files:  Item E-10 
Due Date: February 2022 Council Approval Date: June 1, 2022 

  

 

Report  
  

Title: 
Chapter: 

Article(s): 

17, Transportation 
5, Department of Transportation - Commercial Programs 
8, Mandatory Insurance and Financial Responsibility 

Submitted Report: July Final Files:  Item E-4 
Due Date: March 2022 Council Approval Date: July 6, 2022 

  

 

Report  
  

Title: 
Chapter: 

Article(s): 

17, Transportation 
4, Department of Transportation - Title, Registration, and Driver Licenses 
8, Motor Vehicle Records 

Submitted Report: March Final Files:  Item D-5 
Due Date: December 2022 Council Approval Date: March 7, 2023 

  

 
 
2021 Reports 

Report  
  

Title: 
Chapter: 

Article(s): 

17, Transportation 
5, Department of Transportation - Commercial Programs 
2, Motor Carriers 

Submitted Report: April Final Files:  Item D-5 
Due Date: January 2021 Council Approval Date: April 6, 2021 

  

 

Report  
  

Title: 
Chapter: 

Article(s): 

17, Transportation 
5, Department of Transportation - Commercial Programs 
4, Dealers 

Submitted Report: April Final Files:  Item D-4 
Due Date: January 2021 Council Approval Date: April 6, 2021 

  

 

https://grrc.az.gov/sites/default/files/2022-05/5.25.2022%20June%20Final%20Files.pdf#page=861
https://grrc.az.gov/sites/default/files/2022-06/July%20Final%20Files.pdf#page=1907
https://grrc.az.gov/sites/default/files/2023-02/March%20Final%20Files_0.pdf#page=605
https://grrc.az.gov/sites/default/files/meeting-files/April%20Final%20Files_1.pdf#page=242
https://grrc.az.gov/sites/default/files/meeting-files/April%20Final%20Files_1.pdf#page=200


Page 6 of 30 
04/19/2024 Back to Top 

Report  
  

Title: 
Chapter: 

Article(s): 

17, Transportation 
4, Department of Transportation - Title, Registration, and Driver Licenses 
7, Hazardous Materials Endorsement 

Submitted Report: September Final Files:  Item E-2 
Due Date: June 2021 Council Approval Date: September 8, 2021 

  

 
 
2020 Reports 

Report  
  

Title: 
Chapter: 

Article(s): 

17, Transportation 
5, Department of Transportation - Commercial Programs 
5, Motor Carrier Financial Responsibility 

Submitted Report: April Final Files:  F20-0401, Item E-2 
Due Date: January 2020 Council Approval Date: April 7, 2020 

  

 

Report  
  

Title: 
Chapter: 

Article(s): 

17, Transportation 
5, Department of Transportation - Commercial Programs 
6, Ignition Interlock Device Manufacturers and Ignition Interlock Service Providers and 7, Ignition Interlock 
Device Technicians 

Submitted Report: N/A 
Due Date: January 2020 Council Approval Date: Report Rescheduled for January 2025 

  

 

Report  
  

Title: 
Chapter: 

Article(s): 

17, Transportation 
5, Department of Transportation - Commercial Programs 
9, Transportation Network Companies 

Submitted Report: October Final Files:  F20-1002, Item E-2 
Due Date: July 2020 Council Approval Date: October 6, 2020 

  

 

Report  
  

Title: 
Chapter: 

Article(s): 

17, Transportation 
5, Department of Transportation - Commercial Programs 
3, Professional Driver Services 

Submitted Report: December Final Files: Item E-2 
Due Date: August 2020 Council Approval Date: December 1, 2020 

  

 

https://grrc.az.gov/sites/default/files/meeting-files/September%20Final%20Files_1.pdf#page=228
https://grrc.az.gov/sites/default/files/meeting-files/April%20Final%20Files_0.pdf#page=629
https://grrc.az.gov/sites/default/files/meeting-files/October%20Final%20Files_2.pdf#page=464
https://grrc.az.gov/sites/default/files/meeting-files/December%20Final%20Files_1.pdf#page=389
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NOTICE OF PROPOSED EXPEDITED RULEMAKING 

TITLE 17. TRANSPORTATION 

CHAPTER 7. DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 

THIRD-PARTY PROGRAMS 

PREAMBLE 

 

1. Article, Part, or Section Affected (as applicable) Rulemaking Action 

R17-7-101 Amend 

R17-7-201 Amend 

R17-7-202 Amend 

R17-7-203 Amend 

R17-7-204 Amend 

R17-7-301 Amend 

R17-7-302 Amend 

R17-7-303 Amend 

R17-7-401 Amend 

R17-7-601 Amend 

R17-7-603 Amend 

R17-7-604 Amend 

R17-7-605 Amend 

R17-7-606 Amend 

R17-7-702 Amend 

R17-7-703 Amend 

R17-7-704 Amend 

R17-7-705 Amend 

2. Citations to the agency’s statutory rulemaking authority to include the authorizing statute (general) and 

the implementing statute (specific): 

Authorizing statutes: A.R.S. § 28-366 

Implementing statutes: A.R.S. §§ 28-5101, 28-5101.01, 28-5101.02, 28-5101.03, 28-5102, 28-5103, 28-

5105, 28-5106, and 41-1009 

3. Citations to all related notices published in the Register as specified in R1-1-409(A) that pertain to the 

record of the proposed expedited rules: 

Notice of Rulemaking Docket Opening: 30 A.A.R. (Register Editor to complete), May 10, 2024 

4. The agency’s contact person who can answer questions about the rulemaking: 

Name: Candace Olson, Senior Rules Analyst 

Address: Government Relations and Rules 

Department of Transportation 
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206 S. 17th Ave., Mail Drop 180A 

Phoenix, AZ 85007 

Telephone: (480) 267-6610 

E-mail: COlson2@azdot.gov 

Website: https://azdot.gov/about/government-relations 

5. An agency’s explanation why the proposed expedited rule should be made, amended, repealed or 

renumbered under A.R.S. § 41-1027(A), and why expedited proceedings are justified under A.R.S. § 41-

1001(16)(c): 

Pursuant to A.R.S. § 41-1027(A)(7), the Department is engaged in this expedited rulemaking to incorporate 

the changes proposed in the Department’s recent five-year review report on 17 A.A.C. Chapter 7, Third-

Party Programs, approved by the Governor’s Regulatory Review Council on November 7, 2023. The 

Department determined that there were rules in this Article that should be updated and improved to better 

reflect the Department’s processes, include updates for recent legislation that allows authorized third-party 

driver license providers to perform functions related to the issuance and renewal of commercial driver 

licenses (CDLs), and ensure consistency with proper formatting and grammar, including ensuring 

conformity to the rulemaking format and style requirements of the Arizona Administrative Procedure Act 

and the Office of the Secretary of State. 

 

The rules have been amended to improve clarity, conciseness, and to be up to date with current program 

verbiage and needs. These changes include updates to definitions, streamlining the verbiage and 

requirements of some of the applications and forms, streamlining the fingerprint requirement verbiage to be 

more in accordance with the statute as the process is handled outside of the Department, clarified the age 

requirements of applicants, consolidating and merging some subsections, removing language that indicates 

items being required by mail since many may now be mailed or electronically submitted, clarifying 

notification timelines, clarifying the good standing requirement, clarifying a certified individual’s personnel 

file requirements, clarifying solicitation restrictions, removing and replacing the outdated monthly 

reconciliation report process with voided score sheets, extending the validity of score sheets from 30 days 

to one year, clarifying the Department-approved curriculum requirement, and removing the provision that 

driver license trainer certificates are nontransferable. In addition, the Department adds a requirement for 

CDL applicants to successfully complete the entry-level driver training as required under 49 CFR 383 and 

384. Also, to ensure driver license trainers are current, the Department is adding a requirement that if a 

trainer is not employed by a professional driver license training school for a period of at least one year, the 

trainer must reapply and satisfy all the driver license training requirements. 

 

To further promote the additional CDL capability, the Department is adding CDL verbiage to the definition 

of “driver license processor,” removing the 3-year minimum CDL driving experience requirement, adding 

mailto:COlson2@azdot.gov?subject=Third-Party%20Programs%20Updates
https://azdot.gov/about/government-relations
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the requirement for a CDL record for CDL holders as a more appropriate driving record type, and adding 

clarifying CDL verbiage as necessary. 

6. A reference to any study relevant to the rule that the agency reviewed and proposes either to rely on or 

not to rely on in its evaluation of or justification for the rule, where the public may obtain or review each 

study, all data underlying each study, and any analysis of each study and other supporting material: 

The Department did not review or rely on any study relevant to the rules. 

7. A showing of good cause why the rulemaking is necessary to promote a statewide interest if the 

rulemaking will diminish a previous grant of authority of a political subdivision of this state: 

Not applicable 

8. The preliminary summary of the economic, small business, and consumer impact: 

The Department is exempt from the requirements under A.R.S. § 41-1055(G) to prepare and file an 

economic, small business, and consumer impact statement under A.R.S. § 41-1055(D)(2). 

9. The agency’s contact person who can answer questions about the preliminary summary of the economic, 

small business and consumer impact of the proposed expedited rule: 

Name: Candace Olson, Senior Rules Analyst 

Address: Government Relations and Rules 

Department of Transportation 

206 S. 17th Ave., Mail Drop 180A 

Phoenix, AZ 85007 

Telephone: (480) 267-6610 

E-mail: COlson2@azdot.gov 

Website: https://azdot.gov/about/government-relations 

10. The time, place, and nature of the proceedings for the making, amendment, or repeal of the rule, and 

how persons may provide written comment to the agency on the proposed expedited rule under A.R.S. § 

41-1027(E): 

Written comments on the proposed expedited rulemaking should be directed to the person listed in item 4. 

All comments must be received by the close of public record at 5:00 p.m. on May 22, 2024. The 

Department has scheduled the following oral proceeding for public comments: 

Date: May 22, 2024 

Time: 10:30 a.m. 

Google Meet: Phone:  +1 478-449-4121 PIN:  591 671 800# 

Web address:  https://meet.google.com/wgg-drmk-exb 

Nature: Oral Proceeding/Public Hearing 

 

This meeting will be held virtually. Virtual access will be provided through Google Meet. Persons may 

access this meeting via the phone number or web address provided above. It is not necessary to have a 

Google account to participate in this meeting when joining from a web browser on a computer or laptop. 

mailto:COlson2@azdot.gov?subject=Third-Party%20Programs%20Updates
https://azdot.gov/about/government-relations
https://meet.google.com/wgg-drmk-exb


NPERM - 4 

Any changes to the meeting information will be posted at least 24 hours in advance of the meeting on the 

Department’s website at https://azdot.gov/about/government-relations. If you have any questions regarding 

this, please contact the person listed in item 4. 

 

Pursuant to Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, and the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) and 

other nondiscrimination laws and authorities, the Department does not discriminate on the basis of race, 

color, national origin, sex, age, or disability. Persons that require a reasonable accommodation based on 

language or disability should contact ADOT Civil Rights at (602) 712-8946 or civilrightsoffice@azdot.gov. 

Requests should be made as early as possible to ensure the State has an opportunity to address the 

accommodation. 

 

De acuerdo con el Título VI de la Ley de Derechos Civiles de 1964, la Ley de Estadounidenses con 

Discapacidades (ADA por sus siglas en inglés) y otras normas y leyes antidiscriminatorias, el 

Departamento de Transporte de Arizona (ADOT) no discrimina por motivos de raza, color, origen nacional, 

sexo, edad o discapacidad. Las personas que requieren asistencia (dentro de lo razonable) ya sea por el 

idioma o discapacidad deben ponerse en contacto con la Oficina de Derechos Civiles de ADOT al (602) 

712-8946 o civilrightsoffice@azdot.gov. Las solicitudes deben hacerse lo antes posible para asegurar que el 

Estado tiene la oportunidad de hacer los arreglos necesarios. 

11. All agencies shall list other matters prescribed by statute applicable to the specific agency or to any 

specific rule or class of rules. Additionally, an agency subject to Council review under A.R.S. §§ 41-1052 

and 41-1055 shall respond to the following questions: 

There are no other matters prescribed by statute applicable to the Department or to any specific rule or class 

of rules. 

a. Whether the rules require a permit, license, or agency authorization under A.R.S. § 41-1037(A), and 

whether a general permit is used and if not, the reasons why a general permit is not used: 

Pursuant to A.R.S. § 28-5101, the Department is authorizing third parties to perform specific functions. 

These authorizations do fall under the definition of general permits since the activities and practices 

authorized are substantially similar in nature for all third parties authorized to perform that specified 

activity or function. 

 

As provided in A.R.S. § 28-5102, the Department authorizes third parties to perform motor vehicle-

related activities for customers. These authorizations are considered a general permit because the 

activities and practices authorized are substantially similar in nature for all third parties authorized to 

perform each specific activity. 
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b. Whether a federal law is applicable to the subject of the rules, whether the rules are more stringent 

than federal law and if so, citation to the statutory authority to exceed the requirements of federal 

law: 

Federal regulations, 49 CFR 383.75, Third Party Testing, and 49 CFR 384.228, Examiner Training and 

Record Checks, are applicable to the rules, and the rules are no more stringent than federal law. 

c. Whether a person submitted an analysis to the agency that compares the rule’s impact of the 

competitiveness of business in this state to the impact on business in other states: 

No analysis was submitted to the Department. 

12. A list of any incorporated by reference material as specified in A.R.S. § 41-1028 and its location in the 

rules: 

Not applicable 

13. The full text of the rules follows: 
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TITLE 17. TRANSPORTATION 

CHAPTER 7. DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 

THIRD-PARTY PROGRAMS 

 

ARTICLE 1. DEFINITIONS 

Section 

R17-7-101. Definitions 

 

ARTICLE 2. AUTHORIZATION 

Section 

R17-7-201. Authorization Application Requirements 

R17-7-202. Notification of Authorization Approval or Denial and Hearing 

R17-7-203. Authorization Agreement 

R17-7-204. Authorized Third-party Requirements 

 

ARTICLE 3. CERTIFICATION 

Section 

R17-7-301. Certification Application Requirements 

R17-7-302. Notification of Certification Approval or Denial and Hearing 

R17-7-303. General Requirements of a Certified Individual 

 

ARTICLE 4. AUDITS AND INSPECTION 

Section 

R17-7-401. Audits and Inspection 

 

ARTICLE 6. COMMERCIAL DRIVER LICENSE EXAMINATION PROGRAM 

Section 

R17-7-601. Definitions 

R17-7-603. Additional Authorization Application Requirements for CDLE Program 

R17-7-604. Additional Certification Application Requirements for Commercial Driver License Examiners 

R17-7-605. Additional Authorized CDLE Program Requirements 

R17-7-606. Certified Commercial Driver License Examiner Requirements 

 

ARTICLE 7. DRIVER LICENSE TRAINING PROVIDER PROGRAM 

Section 

R17-7-702. Additional Authorization Application Requirements for Driver License Training Providers 

R17-7-703. Additional Certification Application Requirements for Driver License Trainers 
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R17-7-704. Additional Authorized Driver License Training Provider Program Requirements 

R17-7-705. Certified Driver License Trainer Requirements 
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ARTICLE 1. DEFINITIONS 

 

R17-7-101. Definitions 

The following definitions apply to this Chapter unless otherwise specified: 

“Accountable inventory” means an item that is reproduced by the Department in a consecutively numbered 

series for: 

Recording the number of a completed, issued, or voided item in a log; and 

Reporting the number of a completed, issued, or voided item to the Department. 

“Activity” means a function or service that is provided by an authorized third party pursuant to A.R.S. Title 28, 

Chapter 13 and that is performed by a certified individual as defined in this Article. 

“Agency head” or “political subdivision head” means the chief officer of an agency or political subdivision or 

another individual with authority to act for the agency head or political subdivision head. 

“Application Date” means the date an application is received by the Department. 

“Authorized third party” means an entity that: 

Has written permission from the Department to operate a business under A.R.S. Title 28, Chapter 13; and 

Employs or contracts with at least one certified individual to provide a third-party activity. 

“Branch” means an authorized third party’s business location that is an additional established place of business. 

“Certified individual” means an individual who is certified by the Department under A.R.S. Title 28, Chapter 13 

to perform specified activities for an authorized third party as an employee or contractor. The Department may 

certify an individual as: 

A commercial driver license examiner, 

A dealer license processor, 

A driver license processor, 

A driver license trainer, 

An office personnel member, 

A tax report processor, 

A title and registration processor, 

A vehicle inspector, or 

A vehicle permit processor. 

“Commercial driver license examiner” means an individual certified by the Department to administer class A, 

B, or C driver license skills tests. 

“Concentration Banking System” means a type of state bank account, established by the Arizona State 

Treasurer’s office, for deposit of monies collected by an authorized third party depository eligible to be a 

servicing bank for the State of Arizona. 

“Contact individual” means a principal or designated individual of an authorized third party who communicates 

with the Department on behalf of the authorized third party. 
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“Convenience fee” means the amount exceeding the statutorily prescribed fees and taxes that an authorized 

third party collects and retains for its services. 

“Department” means the Arizona Department of Transportation. 

“Dealer license processor” means an individual certified by the Department to: 

Review applications for vehicle dealer licenses; 

Enter information related to the applications in the Department’s database; and 

Issue vehicle dealer licenses under A.R.S. Title 28, Chapter 10. 

“Driver license processor” means an individual certified by the Department to perform any one or a 

combination of driver license, including commercial driver license, processing functions under A.R.S. Title 28 

as specified in the authorization agreement between the Department and an authorized third party who has 

engaged the individual to perform those functions. 

“Driver license trainer” means an individual certified by the Department to: 

Educate and train persons, either practically or theoretically, or both, to operate or drive motor vehicles; 

Prepare applicants for an examination given by the Department or an authorized third party driver license 

provider for a driver license or instruction permit; and 

Charge a consideration or tuition for these services. 

“Established place of business” means an authorized third party’s business location that is: 

Approved by the Department, 

Located in Arizona, 

Not used as a residence, and 

Where the authorized third party performs authorized activities. 

“Floor plan” means a Department-approved diagram of a building’s interior, as seen from above, that shows the 

interior dimensions and the location of doors, windows, and equipment. 

“Good standing” means an authorized third party applicant or an applicant seeking certification: 

Has not had a similar business license or certification issued suspended, revoked, canceled, or denied 

within the previous three five years of the application date; 

Does not owe delinquent fees, taxes, or unpaid balances to the Department; 

Has not had any substantiated derogatory information relevant to the requested authorization or 

certification reported to the Department about the applicant from any state agency or from any consumer 

protection agency contacted by the Department; or 

If the applicant is a former Department employee, a former authorized third party, or a former employee of 

an authorized third party, has not been dismissed or resigned from a position for cause, including: 

Committing a serious violation, as defined in A.R.S. § 28-5108; 

Misconduct,; or 

Resignation from position: 

In lieu of dismissal, or 

By mutual agreement following allegations of misconduct or committing a serious violation. 
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“Log” means a complete, chronological record of accountable inventories and or activities or both performed 

and kept by the authorized third party as prescribed by the Department. 

“Motor vehicle inspection” means vehicle verification as prescribed in A.R.S. § 28-2011. 

“Office personnel member” means an individual who does not perform any other of the activities requiring 

certification under this Chapter and who is certified by the Department as an employee who performs functions 

that: 

Have exposure to protected personal information, or 

Has complete oversight and responsibility for all day-to-day operations necessary to ensure full compliance 

with all applicable program requirements. 

“Principal” means any of the following: 

If a sole proprietorship, the sole proprietor; 

If a partnership, limited partnership, limited liability partnership, limited liability company, or corporation, 

the: 

Partner; 

Manager; 

Member; 

Officer; 

Director; 

Agent; or  

If a limited liability company or corporation, each stockholder owning 20 percent or more of the 

limited liability company or corporation; or 

If a political subdivision or government agency, the political subdivision or agency head. 

“Principal place of business” means an authorized third party’s administrative headquarters, which shall not be 

used as a residence. 

“SAAM” means the State of Arizona Accounting Manual. 

“Skills test” means a set of tests, authorized and approved by the Department and administered by the 

Department or by an authorized third party commercial driver license examiner or driver license processor to 

determine whether the applicant possesses the required skills for the type of license for which the applicant 

applies. 

“Skills test route” means a public road or highway driving course, identified by an authorized third party and 

approved by the Department, for administering skills tests to driver license applicants. 

“Tax report processor” means an individual certified by the Department to: 

Process fuel tax reports and interstate user fuel tax reports from fuel suppliers, fuel vendors, and motor 

carriers; and 

File the reports with the Department. 

“Test site” means a location, identified by an authorized third party, for administering skills tests to driver 

license applicants that is: 
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Approved by the Department, 

Permanently marked, and 

Off the public road or highway. 

“Title and registration processor” means an individual certified by the Department to: 

Review applications for vehicle certificates of title or registrations under A.R.S. Title 28, Chapter 7; 

Enter information related to applications for vehicle certificates of title or registrations into the 

Department’s database; and 

Issue or deny vehicle certificates of title or registrations. 

“Vehicle inspector” means an individual certified by the Department to perform motor vehicle inspections. 

“Vehicle permit processor” means an individual certified by the Department to: 

Review applications for permits or registrations under A.R.S. Title 28, Chapter 3, Articles 18 and 19, and 

Chapter 7; 

Enter information related to the applications in the Department’s database; and 

Issue or deny permits or registrations. 

“Vicinity” means the area adjacent to, or in the immediate proximity of, any authorized third party’s places of 

business. 

 

ARTICLE 2. AUTHORIZATION 

 

R17-7-201. Authorization Application Requirements 

A. An applicant, who must be at least 18 years of age, for third-party authorization shall provide to the Department 

on request: 

1. The applicant’s name, business name, and federal employer identification number identifying information; 

2. The applicant’s bond status as exempt or nonexempt under A.R.S. Title 28, Chapter 13. If exempt, the 

applicant must complete a bond exemption form, which must be submitted annually unless an exemption 

has been granted by the Department. If nonexempt, the applicant must provide proof of a surety bond 

pursuant to A.R.S. Title 28, Chapter 13; 

3. The name of the person who is the applicant’s principal; 

4. The name, title, e-mail address, and telephone number identifying information of the applicant’s contact 

individual; 

5. The activities for which the applicant seeks third-party authorization; 

6. The address of the applicant’s principal place of business and each established place of business; 

7. A statement that the applicant is in good standing; 

8. The signature of all applicable principles: 

a. The sole proprietor, 

b. All partners, 

c. A corporate officer, 
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d. A limited liability company manager, or 

e. The political subdivision head or agency head; 

9. The following documents relating to the applicant’s business if the applicant is a: 

a. Corporation: 

i. A copy of the articles of incorporation, including any amendments filed with the Arizona 

Corporation Commission; and 

ii. Any other official documents, including copies of board meeting minutes and annual reports, that 

reflect the most recent change to the corporate name, structure, or officers; 

b. Limited liability company: 

i. A copy of the articles of organization, including any amendments filed with the Arizona 

Corporation Commission; or 

ii. A copy of the application for registration as a foreign limited liability company filed with the 

Arizona Corporation Commission and a copy of the certificate of registration issued by the 

Arizona Corporation Commission to a foreign limited liability company;  

c. Limited partnership, or a limited liability partnership: 

i. A copy of a valid certificate of existence issued by the Arizona Secretary of State; 

ii. A copy, stamped “Filed” by the Arizona Secretary of State, of a Certificate of Limited Partnership, 

Certificate of Foreign Limited Partnership, Limited Liability Partnership form, Foreign Limited 

Liability Partnership form, or Statement of Qualification for Conversion of Limited Partnership or 

Limited Liability Partnership; or 

iii. A copy of a valid trade name certificate issued by the Arizona Secretary of State; or 

d. Sole Proprietor: 

i. A copy of a valid certificate of existence issued by the Arizona Secretary of State, or 

ii. A copy of a valid trade name certificate issued by the Arizona Secretary of State; 

10. A floor plan for each place of business that includes: 

a. A computer-generated graphic, 

b. A blueprint or other photographic reproduction of an architectural plan or technical drawing, or 

c. A nontechnical drawing made by hand using a straightedge; 

11. A map, or drawing, or and a narrative description of each skills test route and a photograph or drawing of 

each test site; and 

12. Unless exempt pursuant to A.R.S. § 28-5105, a full set of fingerprints for from a criminal records check in 

accordance with A.R.S. § 28-5105 of each principal who must be at least 18 years of age. The applicant is 

responsible for the cost of the fingerprinting and criminal records check. Each full set of fingerprints shall 

be impressed on a fingerprint card: 

a. Supplied by the Department, and 

b. Completed by a law enforcement agency. 
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B. Unless exempt pursuant to A.R.S. § 28-5105, an applicant for a third-party authorization shall submit, for each 

principal, a statement on a properly signed personal history and authorization to release information form 

provided by the Department with the following which includes identifying information and notification of any 

history of fraud, felony, or a business license withdrawal action as indicated on the form: 

1. Name, including other names and birth dates used; 

2. Residence address; 

3. Any suspension, cancellation, revocation, or denial of any similar business license issued by the 

Department within five years before the application date; and 

4. The individual’s signature witnessed by a notary public or a Department agent designated under A.R.S. § 

28-370(A). 

C. The authorization application, as provided under subsection (A) and (B), is received within 30 days of 

application date. 

 

R17-7-202. Notification of Authorization Approval or Denial and Hearing 

A. Notification. The Department shall send a written and dated notification of approval or denial of third-party 

authorization application, in accordance with A.R.S. § 28-5107, by regular mail to the mailing address provided 

on the application. 

B. Administrative Hearing. An applicant whose application for third-party authorization is denied by the 

Department may request a hearing from the Department on the denial pursuant to A.R.S. § 28-5107 and A.A.C. 

R17-1-501 through R17-1-514. 

 

R17-7-203. Authorization Agreement 

A. An applicant whose third-party authorization application has been approved must sign an authorization 

agreement with the Department which specifies the terms and conditions of the third-party authorization before 

performing any third party program activities. 

B. The third-party authorization agreement may include an addendum exhibits identifying the specific 

requirements unique to each third party program activity. 

 

R17-7-204. Authorized Third-party Requirements 

A. An authorized third party shall maintain compliance with all state and federal laws, Department rules, and 

authorization agreement provisions. 

B. While holding a third-party authorization, any principal or certified individual of an authorized third party shall 

not have a: 

1. Suspension Not have a suspension, cancellation, revocation, or denial of another similar business license or 

agreement issued by the Department; or 

2. Delinquent Not have delinquent fees, taxes, or unpaid balance owed to the Department.; and 

3. Remain in good standing with the Department. 
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C. Until returned to the Department, an authorized third party shall retain the following records at an established 

place of business or at the principal place of business: 

1. All logs and copies of completed, issued, or voided accountable inventory; 

2. All unused accountable inventory; and 

3. All other paper and electronic records, including all supporting documents, relating to the activities 

provided by the authorized third party. 

D. On the request of the Department, an authorized third party shall produce and deliver to the Department the 

records listed in subsection (C). 

E. An authorized third party shall maintain a copy of the certificate issued by the Department relating to each type 

of authorized activity that a certified individual performs at the principal place of business location where the 

certified individual works. 

F. An authorized third party shall retain a certified individual’s personnel file for a minimum of one year after the 

certified individual’s last day of work. The personnel file of the certified individual shall include the certified 

individual’s the following: 

1. Dates of employment, 

2. All computer access forms (if applicable), and 

3. Computer access termination form (if applicable)., and 

4. All relevant Department correspondence. 

G. An authorized third party shall comply with the audit and inspection requirements of A.R.S. § 28-5102 and 

R17-7-401. 

H. An authorized third party shall provide a safe work area adequate in size and otherwise suitable to 

accommodate all authorized activities. 

I. An authorized third party shall: 

1. Have facilities, including the vicinity and equipment, preapproved or prescribed by the Department; 

2. Have one or more established places of business as approved by the Department; and 

3. Conduct all authorized activities only at the approved established places of business. 

J. An authorized third party shall obtain the Department’s written approval before: 

1. Changing the location or floor plan of each established place of business, 

2. Changing a skills test route or test site,  

3. Performing any additional authorized activity, 

4. Conducting any other businesses at an established place of business, or 

5. Using or adopting a name different from the name specified on its authorization agreement. 

K. An authorized third party shall provide written notice to the Department, within five two business days, of any 

changes, including full name and address, to the list of certified individuals or the contact individual. 

L. An authorized third party that is open to the public shall post at each place of business the sign required by 

A.R.S. § 28-5101(J), and a sign provided by the Department that states the business: 

1. Is a Department-authorized third-party provider, and 
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2. May charge the customer a convenience fee when applicable. 

M. An authorized third party shall comply with the application requirements of R17-7-201 and provide the required 

information 30 60 days before making any ownership changes. 

N. An authorized third party shall attend all ongoing Department-approved training within the time-frames 

established by the Department in its authorization agreement. 

O. An authorized third party shall not employ, contract with, or otherwise engage a current Department employee. 

P. An authorized third party shall: 

1. Submit all documents and corrections, according to state laws, rules, and the terms and conditions of its 

authorization agreement; 

2. Immediately notify the Department of any unlawful actions relating to motor vehicle transactions that 

become known to the authorized third party; 

3. Require that a customer submit all supporting documentation prescribed by the Department relating to a 

transaction before updating the Department databases; 

4. Provide written notice to the Department on the form provided by the Department within 24 hours if a 

certified individual’s: 

a. Driver license is suspended, revoked, canceled, or disqualified by the Department, including a 

commercial driver license medical suspension under A.A.C. R17-4-508; 

b. Vehicle certificate of title is canceled by the Department; or 

c. Vehicle registration is suspended or canceled by the Department; 

5. Conduct skills tests, if applicable, only on test routes approved by the Department; and 

6. Maintain all minimum required surety bond and insurance coverage as prescribed in the authorization 

agreement. 

Q. An authorized third party shall not solicit an individual for any purpose or another business on premises rented, 

leased, or owned by the Department property or any other business authorized under this Chapter unless 

approved by the Department. 

 

ARTICLE 3. CERTIFICATION 

 

R17-7-301. Certification Application Requirements 

A. A certification applicant shall provide to the Department the following: 

1. The applicant’s name, residence address, mailing address, telephone number, and date of birth identifying 

information and contact information; 

2. The activities for which the applicant seeks certification; 

3. The dates of any employment of the applicant by the Department Information related to any previous 

employment with the Department; 

4. Whether the Department previously denied an application for any certification of the applicant; 
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5. The activity the applicant was certified to perform for each previous certification issued to the applicant by 

the Department; 

6. Whether the Department suspended or canceled any certification listed under subsection (A)(5); 

7.4. If the applicant previously worked as a certified individual, the names of the last three authorized third 

parties and professional driving schools that employed or contracted with the applicant, and the dates of the 

employment or contract work Information related to any previous certification of the applicant by the 

Department; 

8.5. The applicant’s signature; 

9.6. A statement that the applicant is in good standing; 

10.7.  A full set of fingerprints, on a fingerprint card supplied by the Department and completed by a law 

enforcement agency, for a criminal records check from a criminal records check in accordance with A.R.S. 

§ 28-5105; 

11.8.  The applicant’s driving record for the past 39 months before the application date or commercial driver 

license record, which has the same meaning as a CDLIS motor vehicle record as defined in 49 CFR 

384.105, if the applicant holds a commercial driver license, which must be dated within 30 seven days of 

the application date; and 

12.9.  The official name of the authorized third party at which the applicant will be employed. 

B. The applicant is responsible for the cost of the finger printing and criminal records check. 

C.B.  An applicant for a certification shall submit to the Department a statement with the information listed properly 

signed personal history and authorization to release information form as required under R17-7-201(B). 

D.C.  An applicant may be eligible for certification if the applicant: 

1. Is at least 18 years of age on the application date or 21 years of age, if the applicant requests certification as 

a commercial driver license examiner, driver license trainer, or a driver license processor who will be 

performing driver license skills tests; 

2. Is employed by or under contract for an employer applying for authorization or is authorized as an 

authorized third party;  

2.3. Is in good standing; 

4. Does not have any driver license suspensions, revocations, or cancellations within 39 months of the 

application date, including convictions related to: 

a. Driving under the influence of intoxicating liquor or drugs, 

b. Reckless driving, 

c. Racing upon the highway, or 

d. Leaving the scene of an accident; 

3.5. Successfully completes all training courses required by the Department; and 

4.6. Submits the certification application as provided in subsections (A) through (C) to the Department within 

30 days of the application date. 

E. An applicant for certification shall: 
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1. Be employed or under contract for an employer applying for authorization or authorized as an authorized 

third party. 

2. Not have any driver license suspensions, revocations, or cancellations within 39 months of the application 

date, including convictions related to: 

a. Driving under the influence of intoxicating liquor or drugs, 

b. Reckless driving, 

c. Racing upon the highway, or 

d. Leaving the scene of an accident. 

 

R17-7-302. Notification of Certification Approval or Denial and Hearing 

A. Notification. The Department shall send a written and dated notification of certification approval or denial to 

the address provided on the application and in accordance with A.R.S. § 28-5107: 

1. By regular mail, 

2. To the mailing address provided on the application, and 

3. According to A.R.S. § 28-5107. 

B. Administrative Hearing. An applicant whose application to become a certified individual is denied by the 

Department may request a hearing from the Department on the denial pursuant to A.R.S. § 28-5107 and 17 

A.A.C. 1, Article 5. 

 

R17-7-303.  General Requirements of a Certified Individual 

A. A certified individual shall: 

1. Submit all documents and corrections, according to all state laws and rules and the authorization agreement 

between the Department and the authorized third party; 

2. Immediately notify the authorized third party of unlawful actions relating to motor vehicle transactions; 

3. Require that a customer submit all supporting documentation relating to a transaction before updating the 

Department databases; 

4. Provide notification within 24 hours to the authorized third party if the certified individual’s: 

a. Driver license is suspended, revoked, canceled, or disqualified by the Department; 

b. Vehicle certificate of title is canceled by the Department; or 

c. Vehicle registration is suspended or canceled by the Department; 

5. Provide notification within 5 business days to the authorized third party of any changes to the certified 

individual’s name or address; and 

6. Attend ongoing Department-approved training, including, if applicable, a commercial driver license 

refresher training course, before each renewal of the authorization agreement. 

B. A certified individual shall not: 

1. Witness or notarize signatures on documents relating to a transaction unless the customer submits 

appropriate identification; or 
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2. Solicit an individual for any purpose or another business on the premises rented, leased, or owned by the 

Department property or any other business authorized under this Chapter unless approved by the 

Department. 

 

ARTICLE 4. AUDITS AND INSPECTION 

 

R17-7-401. Audits and Inspection 

A. During an onsite audit or inspection, employees or agents of the Department, any law enforcement agency, or 

the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration may: 

1. Request, review, audit, inspect, copy, or seize all paper, photographic, audio, and electronic records 

generated in the performance of any activities under this Chapter, whether in the possession of a current or 

former authorized third party or a certified individual; 

2. Examine the site of any places of business or other location where any of the materials in subsection (A)(1) 

are kept or may be found, or where any activities under this Chapter are or have been conducted during 

current or previous periods of authorization or certification; and 

3. Interview all or any of the authorized third party’s: 

a. Current or former employees or contractors, 

b. Current or former certified individuals, and 

c. Customers during current or previous periods of authorization or certification. 

B. If Department personnel or the Department’s representative conducts an onsite audit outside Arizona under 

A.R.S. § 28-5102(B)(3), the Department shall charge, and the authorized third party shall timely pay, for the 

costs of the audit, as well as any fees authorized under A.R.S. § 28-5102. The audit charge and payment shall 

include the Arizona Department of Administration reimbursement amounts for out-of-state travel authorized by 

A.R.S. Title 38, Chapter 4, Article 2 and stated in Section II-D of the Arizona Accounting Manual SAAM 5055, 

Travel Claims, prepared by the Arizona Department of Administration, which is available on the Arizona 

General Accounting Office web site at www.gao.az.gov. 

 

ARTICLE 6. COMMERCIAL DRIVER LICENSE EXAMINATION PROGRAM 

 

R17-7-601. Definitions 

The following definitions apply to this Article, unless otherwise specified: 

“CDL” means commercial driver license. 

“CDLE” means commercial driver license examination. 

“CDLE coach or transit bus” means the program activity for administering examinations for a Passenger (P) 

endorsement on a CDL. 

“CDLE school bus” means the program activity for administering examinations for a School Bus (S) 

endorsement on a CDL. 
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“CDLE truck” means the program activity for administering examinations for a Class A, B, or C license. 

“Monthly reconciliation report” means an authorized third party CDLE program’s report of accountable 

inventory. 

 

R17-7-603. Additional Authorization Application Requirements for CDLE Program 

In addition to satisfying the requirements of R17-7-201, an applicant for third-party authorization as a CDLE 

provider shall: 

1. Submit the following: 

a. Photographs and a floor plan of the principal place of business that shows the location of the 

accountable inventory storage, 

b. Photographs and a floor plan of each established place of business, 

c. A test route that complies with the specifications provided by the Department, and 

d. Photographs and a diagram with the dimensions of any proposed CDL test site. The physical 

dimensions of the site shall comply with the specifications provided by the Department. The test site 

shall provide sufficient room to perform all skill maneuvers, be obstacle free and be off the roadway. 

2. Provide to the Department a copy of the current lease or other written agreement for the use of the land if 

the applicant does not own the land on which the place of business or test site is located. 

3. Ensure that each place of business and test site: 

a. Meets all local zoning requirements, and 

b. Is not used as a residence. 

 

R17-7-604. Additional Certification Application Requirements for Commercial Driver License 

Examiners 

A. In addition to satisfying the requirement requirements of R17-7-301, an applicant for certification as a 

commercial driver license examiner shall: 

1. Possess a valid Arizona driver license of the class and endorsement representative of the examinations to be 

administered by the commercial driver license examiner; and 

2. Not have a driver license suspension, cancellation, revocation, or disqualification within 39 months of the 

application date, including a CDL medical suspension under A.A.C. R17-4-508, or a conviction or finding 

of responsibility for any violation under A.R.S. § 28-3312 within five years of the application date; and 

3. Have a minimum of three years of driving experience pertaining to the operation of a commercial vehicle 

representative of the type and class for which the applicant is seeking certification. 

B. An authorized third party that has entered into an authorization agreement may withdraw a certification 

application if the examiner applicant has failed to meet certification requirements. 
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R17-7-605. Additional Authorized CDLE Program Requirements 

In addition to satisfying the requirements of R17-7-204, the authorized third party shall: 

1. Ensure all vehicles used for examination: 

a. Are representative of the class and type for which the individual is seeking a commercial driver 

license; 

b. Are maintained in a safe operating condition; 

c. Comply with registration and insurance requirements set forth in A.R.S. Title 28, Chapters 7, 9, 15, 

and 16; and 

d. Comply with applicable Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations; 

2. Maintain compliance with applicable federal rules and the federal rules as adopted by the Department under 

17 A.A.C. Chapter 5, Article 2; 

3. Allow employees or agents of the Department, any law enforcement agency, or the Federal Motor Carrier 

Safety Administration without prior notice to do any of the following: 

a. Take the tests administered by the authorized third party as if the employee or agent is a test applicant, 

b. Co-score along with the commercial driver license examiner during skills tests to compare pass or fail 

results, 

c. Retest a sample of drivers who were examined by the authorized third party, or 

d. Provide access to a vehicle for use under this subsection; 

4. Maintain the following records at the authorized third party’s principal place of business: 

a. A copy of its current authorization agreement with the Department, 

b. A copy of the current commercial driver license examiner’s certificate for each examiner, 

c. A copy of each completed skills test score sheet for the current calendar year and the past two calendar 

years, 

d. A copy of the authorized third party’s approved skills test routes and test sites, and 

e. A copy of each commercial driver license examiner’s training record; 

5. Submit to the Department by the fifth day of each month, a list of all voided score sheets or an indication if 

none of the score sheets have been voided monthly reconciliation report If the authorized third party fails to 

timely submit a monthly reconciliation report, the Department may: 

a. Give an oral or written warning for the first untimely report, 

b. Send a letter of concern for the second untimely report in a 12-month period, or 

c. Suspend or cancel the authorization for the third untimely report in a 12-month period; and 

6. Verify each CDL applicant: 

a. Possesses a valid Arizona driver license with a photograph and a valid Department-issued commercial 

instruction permit for the class and endorsement of the vehicle to be used in the skills test, and 

b. Has successfully completed the CDL written tests., and 

c. Has successfully completed the entry-level driver training from a certified organization on the national 

registry of entry-level driver training providers as prescribed in subpart F of 49 CFR 380. 
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R17-7-606. Certified Commercial Driver License Examiner Requirements 

A. In addition to satisfying the requirements of R17-7-303, a certified commercial driver license examiner shall: 

1. Comply with all state and federal laws, rules, and the terms and conditions of the authorization agreement 

requirements between the Department and the authorized third party; 

2. Maintain compliance with all certification requirements as prescribed in R17-7-301; 

3. Not administer any examination unless the CDL applicant meets the requirements of all statutes, rules and 

policies relating to driver licensing; 

4. Conduct skills tests only on Department-approved test routes; and 

5. Complete, in the presence of the CDL applicant, the score sheet at the time of the skills test. The score 

sheet is valid for 30 calendar days one year from the day the CDL applicant completes the skills test. 

B. If the commercial driver license examiner’s CDL is suspended, revoked, canceled, or disqualified, the certified 

commercial driver license examiner shall not administer any CDLE. 

C. A commercial driver license examiner shall not accompany an applicant into any office or testing location 

rented, leased, or owned by the Department. 

 

ARTICLE 7. DRIVER LICENSE TRAINING PROVIDER PROGRAM 

 

R17-7-702. Additional Authorization Application Requirements for Driver License Training Providers 

In addition to satisfying the requirements of R17-7-201, an applicant for third-party authorization as a driver license 

training provider shall: 

1. Submit the following: 

a. The specified course of instruction which will be offered, and 

b. Sample copies of the contracts that will be offered to prospective students or given to enrolled 

students. 

2. Provide a certified statement that the applicant will meet the minimum professional training standards as set 

forth by the Department. The minimum professional training standards will be provided to the applicant 

and included in the authorization agreement. 

3. Provide a copy of any current leases or agreements for the use of the land or buildings on which the 

applicant’s places of business and training sites are located. 

4. Ensure that all places of business and training sites: 

a. Meet all local zoning requirements, and 

b. Are not used as a residence. 

 

R17-7-703. Additional Certification Application Requirements for Driver License Trainers 

In addition to satisfying the requirements of R17-7-301, an applicant for certification as a driver license trainer shall 

satisfy all of the following: 
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1. Pass an examination given by the Department consisting of an actual demonstration or a written test, or 

both, covering: 

a. Traffic laws; 

b. Safe driving practices; 

c. Operation of motor vehicles; 

d. Knowledge of teaching methods, techniques, and practices; and 

e. Authorized third-party statutes and rules, business ethics, office procedures, and elementary 

recordkeeping; 

2. Have at least a high school diploma or its equivalent; 

3. Hold a valid Arizona driver license; 

4. Be physically and mentally able to safely operate a motor vehicle and to train others in the operation of 

motor vehicles. To substantiate this requirement, the Department may require a properly signed and 

completed certificate of medical examination conducted by a person qualified and licensed to practice 

medicine in this state; and 

5. Provide other information the Department deems pertinent for determining the applicant’s good moral 

character. 

 

R17-7-704. Additional Authorized Driver License Training Provider Program Requirements 

In addition to satisfying the requirements of R17-7-204, the authorized third party shall comply with the following: 

1. The director shall approve, and may modify, in writing the minimum professional training standards that 

each authorized third party driver license training provider shall teach to its students. Those minimum 

professional training standards shall be included in the authorization agreement. The authorized third party 

driver license training provider shall comply with the Department’s approved curriculum. 

2. The established place of business of each authorized third party driver license training provider must be 

used only for activities authorized by the Department. 

3. Each established place of business shall meet all requirements of state law, local ordinances, and the 

accessibility requirements of the Americans with Disability Act of 1990 (42 U.S.C. 12101 et seq.). The 

Department may require proof of compliance with local zoning ordinances. 

4. An authorized third party driver license training provider must post its office hours in a conspicuous place 

clearly visible to the public within that location and be open to the public during the posted hours. The 

person left in charge of the office during the posted office hours must be fully trained to give pertinent 

information to the public as well as give information to any representative of the Department or to any law 

enforcement agency. 

5. The authorized third party driver license training provider shall provide adequate facilities for any student 

being given instruction in other than behind-the-wheel driver training. 
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6. An authorized third party driver license training provider shall maintain the following records at an 

established place of business or at the principal place of business and make them available for audit and 

inspection during normal business hours: 

a. All records setting forth the name, address, contract number, and terms of payment with respect to 

every person receiving training of any kind, or any other service relating to the operation of a motor 

vehicle. These records must also contain the date, type, and duration of all training, including the name 

of the certified individual giving the lessons and the license plate number, make, and model of the 

vehicle used to conduct the training. 

b. A record of all receipts and disbursements. 

c. A record of all training vehicle maintenance and repairs. 

7. If an authorized third party driver license training provider enters into a written contract with any person or 

group of persons receiving training relating to the operation of a motor vehicle, the training provider shall 

give the original contract to the student or the student’s agent who executes the contract and shall retain a 

copy of the contract in its records. 

8. An authorized third party driver license training provider shall equip each motor vehicle used for driver 

training with: 

a. If the motor vehicle is equipped with an automatic transmission, at least a dual braking device that 

enables an accompanying driver license trainer to bring the motor vehicle under control in case of 

emergency; and 

b. If the motor vehicle is equipped with a standard transmission, at least a dual clutch and braking device 

that enables an accompanying driver license trainer to bring the motor vehicle under control in case of 

emergency. 

9. An authorized third party driver license training provider must maintain all motor vehicles in safe operating 

condition at all times. 

10. An authorized third party driver license training provider shall conduct training only on test routes 

approved by the Department. 

11. An authorized third party driver license training provider shall not: 

a. Indicate or represent in any advertisement that the training provider can issue or guarantee issuance of 

a driver license in any jurisdiction, 

b. Imply or represent that the training provider can in any way influence the Department or an authorized 

third party in the issuance of a driver license, or 

c. Imply or represent that preferential or advantageous treatment from the Department or an authorized 

third party can be obtained. 

12. An authorized third party driver license training provider or a certified trainer shall not accompany any 

student into any examining office or testing location rented, leased, or owned by the Department or an 

authorized third party for the purpose of taking a driver license examination. 
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13. In case of loss or mutilation, a duplicate authorization certificate may be issued by the Department on 

submission of a properly signed and completed application accompanied by an affidavit setting forth the 

circumstances. The affidavit must show the date the previously-issued authorization certificate was lost, 

mutilated, or destroyed, and the circumstances involving its loss, mutilation, or destruction. 

14. An authorization for a driver training provider is nontransferable. 

 

R17-7-705. Certified Driver License Trainer Requirements 

A. In addition to satisfying the requirements of R17-7-303, a certified driver license trainer shall maintain 

compliance with all certification requirements as prescribed in R17-7-301. 

B. In case of loss or mutilation, a duplicate certification may be issued by the Department on submission of a 

properly signed and completed application accompanied by an affidavit setting forth the circumstances. The 

affidavit must show the date the previously-issued certification was lost, mutilated, or destroyed, and the 

circumstances involving its loss, mutilation, or destruction. 

C. A driver license trainer certification is nontransferable. If a certified driver license trainer is not employed by an 

authorized driver license training provider for a period of at least one year, the trainer must reapply and satisfy 

all the driver license training requirements. 
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