Commercial Driver License offices and testing locations

On Dec. 9, 2021, Governor Doug Ducey announced a series of actions that ADOT is taking to safely ease the process for obtaining a Commercial Driver License (CDL) in an effort to alleviate stress on the transportation system and help address the nationwide supply chain crisis. These actions include:

To facilitate more commercial drivers being able to obtain credentials, through Executive Order, the Governor will extend the validity of the commercial learners’ permit (CLP) from six months to one year for those that expire between Dec. 1, 2021 and Feb. 28, 2022, in alignment with federal law. This gives a student more time to fulfill training requirements without having to reapply for a new permit. The purpose of the CLP is to allow a student to operate a commercial motor vehicle for training purposes with a licensed driver present. 

The Executive Order, in alignment with the current federal waiver, will temporarily allow a commercial driver to keep their CDL past the date that the person’s medical certification is required, until Feb. 28, 2022. CDLs are regulated by the federal government. The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) previously initiated a series of waivers, including one that allows a driver to keep their CDL active temporarily after the expiration of a medical certificate. Arizona will adopt this practice temporarily, until Feb. 28, 2022, to keep current CDL holders on the road and alleviate supply chain challenges. CDL holders can upload documents online, as well as verify the status of their Arizona medical certificate, at

Read the Executive Order HERE.

NOTE FROM MVD: Because of the Executive Order, Arizona’s Motor Vehicle Record (MVR) may display with a Medical Certification Status of “certified” when the driver's medical certificate expired on or after 12/1/2021.

Beginning Feb. 7, 2022, the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) will require new CDL applicants and those seeking to upgrade their CDL to receive training from a certified organization on the national registry of Entry-Level Driver Training (ELDT) providers. ELDT training includes curriculum in three areas: theory, range and road. To process and issue a CDL, the Arizona Department of Transportation Motor Vehicle Division will need to validate that an applicant has completed this training.

This requirement impacts drivers attempting to:

  • Obtain a Class A or Class B commercial driver’s license (CDL) for the first time.
  • Upgrade an existing Class B CDL to a Class A CDL.
  • Obtain a school bus (S), passenger (P), or hazardous materials (H) endorsement for the first time.

The ELDT regulations are not retroactive and do not apply to individuals holding a valid CDL or an S, P or H endorsement issued prior to February 7, 2022.

To view a list of training providers, visit FMCSA's Training Provider Registry home page, scroll down to "Do you need a training provider?" and click that link.

If your organization or business currently trains its drivers and is interested in becoming a certified training provider on the national registry, visit for more information and to register as a provider.

Goodyear CDL
14370 W Van Buren St
Goodyear AZ 85338

Tucson CDL
621 E 22nd St
Tucson AZ 85713

Knowledge testing for commercial learner's permit or endorsement tests can be done at any MVD offices in Arizona between 7:30AM - 3PM. No appointment necessary.

Knowledge tests require a minimum score of 80 percent to pass the exam. Applicants who failed their attempts are required to wait until the next business day to retake any tests.

Skills Testing is conducted by appointment only at the following locations.You may visit any MVD office or contact MVD at 602.255.0072 to request for an appointment for skill testing. Once a request has been submitted, the CDL tester will contact you to schedule an appointment for your desired location.

  • Casa Grande
  • Flagstaff
  • Goodyear
  • Holbrook
  • Kingman
  • Payson
  • Prescott
  • Show Low
  • Sierra Vista
  • Southeast Mesa
  • Tucson
  • Yuma

For more informaton, please visit the Commercial License Information - FAQ Page.