Credit or Refunds for Fees

When you sell your vehicle or transfer a plate to another vehicle you own, you may be eligible to receive credit for fees previously paid on the vehicle that was sold or transferred.

Check online to determine if there is a credit or refund available.

Check Plate Credit


There is a $12 processing fee to apply the remaining credit to another vehicle you own. The credit is for Arizona vehicle registration fees and can only be applied to another Arizona vehicle registration.

Don’t wait! Credit reduces each month when credit or refund is not requested. Credit will be based on the number of months left on the registration of the previous vehicle at the time the credit is applied.

Credit can only be applied toward those fees specifically required to register the next vehicle. Credit can be applied to one vehicle registration only.  It cannot be divided between two or more vehicles. Any credit remaining after the initial registration will be automatically refunded.


If the plate credit is over $12, you may be eligible for a refund. A refund may be requested through one of the following:

In accordance with Arizona law, you are not eligible for a refund if you register the vehicle in another state. 

Apply For a Refund

Plate refund checks are issued to the owners based on the legal status established in MVD records and will be mailed to you within 10 to 14 business days. 

Once you have requested a refund, the vehicle will no longer be registered. Relinquish the license plate to MVD or an Authorized Third Party Provider.  If the plate is personalized or a special plate, you may keep the plate.  It is illegal to operate any motor vehicle on public roads in Arizona without proper registration.

For additional information, please see our Vehicle Services FAQs.