Driver License Classes and Types

Driver License Classes and Types

Driver License Classes

Licenses are issued by “class”: G for graduated, D for operator, M for motorcycle, and A, B, C for commercial. If the Class M license is combined with any other class of license, it will be added as an endorsement on the back of the current license.

Operator License (Class D)

An operator license allows you to drive any vehicle that does not require a motorcycle or commercial license. You must be at least 18 years old to apply for an operator license.

Motorcycle License (Class M)

A motorcycle license or endorsement (L or M) is required to drive a motorcycle or motor-driven cycle. You must be at least 16 to apply for a motorcycle license.

Commercial Driver License (Class A, B or C)

A commercial driver license (CDL) is required for drivers of heavyweight vehicles, 26,001 lbs. or more gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR), vehicles hauling a trailer that is 10,001 lbs. (GVWR)or more where the combined GVWR is 26,001 lbs or more, vehicles capable of carrying 16 or more passengers (including the driver), or vehicles required to be placarded for hazardous material.

Graduated Driver License (Class G)

If you are at least 16, but less than 18 years of age you will be issued a graduated driver license that is valid to operate with restrictions any vehicle that does not require a motorcycle or commercial driver license.

Information on professional driver training offered by schools in Arizona.

Driver License Types

Arizona Travel ID

The Arizona Travel ID is the credential that complies with the federal REAL ID Act of 2005. It's available as both a driver license and identification card. Effective May 3, 2023, only the Arizona Travel ID (driver license or ID card), a U.S. passport and other federally approved identification will be accepted at TSA airport security checkpoints for domestic travel.

Instruction Permit

Teenagers at least age 15 years and six months may be issued a graduated and/or motorcycle instruction permit. The recipient must be accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 21 and occupies the seat beside the driver. These permits are valid for 12 months. 

There is also a commercial driver license permit. Recipients must be at least 18 to apply. These are valid for six months. 

Under 21 Driver License

The license has a vertical format and displays the date when the licensee reaches age 21.