New Entrant Program
New Entrant Program
The New Entrant Motor Carrier Safety Program, administered by the Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT), in conjunction with the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA), is designed to assist the new motor carrier operations to understand the complex federal and state regulations that motor carriers are required to follow. This program was implemented in response to the Motor Carrier Safety Improvement Act of 1999, which aimed at reducing the number of safety incidents involving new motor carriers and drivers by providing increased training. In Arizona, ADOT and FMCSA conduct all new entrant safety audits.
All new interstate motor carriers are considered a new entrant after they register with FMCSA and receive an Identification number from the U.S. Department of Transportation and are subject to an 18-month safety-monitoring period. New Entrants carriers are required to have a Safety Audit conducted within 12 months for Property carriers, and 4 months for Passenger Motor Coach carriers. During this safety-monitoring period, the carrier will receive a safety audit and have their roadside crash and inspection information closely evaluated. The carrier will be required to demonstrate it has the necessary systems in place to ensure basic safety management controls. Failure to demonstrate basic safety management controls may result in the carrier having their new entrant registration revoked.
All new entrant motor carriers must complete an application package consisting of a MCS-150, and/or a MCS-150B for the registration of the USDOT number. This application may be completed online, or by contacting the (FMCSA) Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration headquarters office at 800.832.5660 to requesting an application by mail.
Carriers operating in interstate commerce must register for a USDOT number. The USDOT number must be displayed on all Commercial Motor Vehicles (CMVs) operated by the carriers, as per Regulation (Part 390.21).
The following carriers are required to have a USDOT Number:
Commercial Motor Vehicle: means any self-propelled or towed motor vehicle used on a highway in interstate commerce to transport passengers or property when the vehicle -
- Has a gross vehicle weight rating or gross combination weight rating, or gross vehicle weight or gross combination weight, of 4,536 kg (10,001 pounds) or more, whichever is greater; or
- Is designed or used to transport more than 8 passengers (including the driver) for compensation; or
- Is designed or used to transport more than 15 passengers, including the driver, and is not used to transport passengers for compensation; or
- Is used in transporting material found by the Secretary of Transportation to be hazardous under 49 U.S.C. 5103 and transported in a quantity requiring placarding under regulations prescribed by the Secretary under 49 CFR, subtitle B, chapter I, subchapter C.
For-hire motor carriers must complete an OP-1, or OP-1(P), the BOC-3, and pay a $300 filing fee. This application may be completed online, or by contacting the FMCSA headquarters office at 800.832.5660 and requesting an application by mail.
Companies that operate as for hire carriers (for a fee or other compensation) that transport passengers or federally regulated commodities, or arrange for their transport, in interstate commerce are required to have interstate operating authority. The FMCSA operating authority is also referred to as an "MC" number.