I-17 101 traffic interchange

Homeless veterans benefit from new law waiving some MVD fees

Homeless veterans benefit from new law waiving some MVD fees

September 10, 2018

PHOENIX – Arizona veterans who find themselves in the challenging situation of being homeless now have the opportunity to get a driver license or ID card without paying a fee.

Under a new state law that took effect this month, the Arizona Department of Transportation Motor Vehicle Division has the authority to waive the $25 fee associated with getting a license or ID.  Several other fees, including those for a license suspension or revocation, a road test for drivers moving to Arizona from another state, among others, may also be waived.

“Having a license or ID card is essential to so many aspects of life and this new law will make it easier for less-fortunate veterans to get one of those credentials,” said MVD Stakeholder Relations Manager Jennifer Bowser-Richards. “Our veterans have made tremendous sacrifices to serve our nation, and the MVD is proud to assist homeless vets in this way.”

“Since most assistance programs require identification, getting an ID knocks down huge barriers for our homeless veterans,” Arizona Department of Veterans’ Services Deputy Director John Scott said.  “This is important, especially for chronically homeless veterans, who can now access resources to help them stabilize.”

To qualify for the waiver, the MVD will verify the customer’s status as a veteran. In addition, the customer must provide a statement on U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs letterhead or a statement on the letterhead of a verified provider of homeless services that the customer has been homeless within the past 60 days.Arizona law relies on the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development’s definition of homeless as lacking a fixed, regular and adequate nighttime residence. This includes a location not meant for human habitation, or a temporary or emergency shelter.

For more information: azdot.gov