New members join State Transportation Board

New members join State Transportation Board

April 23, 2013
Blog Default

Arizona’s State Transportation Board has two new members…

Appointed by Gov. Jan Brewer and confirmed by the Arizona State Senate, Deanna L. Beaver and William F. Cuthbertson have replaced outgoing members Bobbie Lundstrom and Bill Feldmeier (members of the board serve six-year terms).

The newest members join five others on the board in representing local communities to plan and develop the state’s transportation system.

“An efficient transportation system is critical to Arizona’s ability to foster trade opportunities, create jobs and enhance our global competitiveness,” said Gov. Brewer. “As lifelong Arizonans with decades of service to their respective communities, Ms. Beaver and Mr. Cuthbertson know the transportation challenges facing Arizona. They will each be of tremendous value to the Transportation Board and the traveling public.”

About the State Transportation Board
There’s a lot that this group oversees, including the annual adoption of the five-year construction program (by the way, don’t forget that there's still time to comment on the most recent plan). The board also awards construction contracts and monitors the status of projects.

Additionally, the board serves in an advisory capacity to the Director of ADOT and is granted specific policy powers and duties related to the planning of development of Arizona’s highways, airports and other state transportation facilities.

For more on what the State Transportation Board is all about, you can re-visit this blog post. And, to learn about all the board members, including the two newest ones, visit the State Transportation Board Web page.