Equipment Services auctions vehicles and equipment year-round as they are authorized for sale and become available. The Public Surplus website will include a full description showing photos of the equipment.
State owned vehicles and equipment being sold is surplus state property from various State agencies. Items included are sedans, pickup trucks, heavy duty trucks, Off and on road construction equipment and various specialized equipment such as arrow boards, message boards, air compressors, water tanks and the like. All auction items are sold as is with no warranties.
Per State statute, surplus items are first offered for sale to other state agencies, local government agencies, school districts and other eligible nonprofit institutions. These agencies are referred to as donees. Items are offered to donees at an ADOT-surplus established fair-market value, and that value is non-negotiable. Items that are not sold to donees are made available for the public to bid on.
The public will be allowed approximately 4 days to bid on vehicles and equipment. ADOT has the right to extend bidding days. The internet site allows for proxy bids to be placed by bidders. The successful bidder will be notified via email and given 5 days to pay in full and 10 days to pick up items from the ADOT Equipment Services Auction Yard (unless your bid was from an off-site auction location, bidders will still be required to pick up within the 10 day period, but it will be from that off-site location).
You can view the equipment online for sale by ADOT without registering, but to place a bid, you must register.
Items offered for sale are used and may contain defects not immediately detectable and not all defects are listed within the description. ADOT does not allow pre-inspection of vehicles or equipment.
Purchase and Pick-up
Payment is accepted between 8 a.m. and 2 p.m. (Arizona time) each weekday (The auction is closed on all State holidays). The surplus address is 2350 S. 22nd Ave, Phoenix, Arizona 85009.
Payments must be in the form of Visa or Master Card debit or credit cards (cardholder and credit card must be physically present at time of payment to use credit or debit cards for payment; phone credit card processing is not allowed). Personal checks and company checks will not be accepted.
The buyer must remove auction item(s) from an agency location within 5 business days of notification by ADOT of receipt of payment, and within 10 business days from the time and date of issuance of the Notice of Award. Successful bidders are responsible for loading all property awarded to them from the location where the property was purchased as indicated on the website, and in the Notice of Award. The buyer will make all arrangements and perform all work necessary, including packing, loading and transportation of the property. Under no circumstances will ADOT assume responsibility for packing, loading or shipping. Property may be picked up between the hours of 8 a.m. and 2 p.m., Monday through Friday, excluding State holidays. For additional information, please contact ADOT Equipment Services at 602.712.6508.
Tax is not included in the bid price. A transaction privilege tax of 6.3% will be applicable to all sales unless a current resale license is supplied