Registration or Use Fuel Permits

Registration or Use Fuel Permits

Instead of buying single-trip permits each time entering Arizona, nonresident motor carriers may purchase registration and/or use fuel permits to enter and travel  lawfully in this state on multiple trips over a specific time period.

A 30-, 60- or 90-day registration permit is issued to a commercial vehicle or vehicle combination. The fee is based on the declared GVWR, the year of the vehicle and the length of the permit period requested.

The vehicle or vehicle combination must be currently registered in another state, jurisdiction or country.

The weight of the vehicle and the load may not exceed the declared GVWR on the registration or permit while operating in Arizona

30-60-90 day permit may be verified against the registration, any time you enter an Arizona port of entry or by law enforcement

A 30-, 90- or 180-day use fuel permit is issued to a use fuel (diesel) motor vehicle that is a road tractor, truck tractor, truck or passenger-carrying vehicle with a GVWR greater than 26,000 pounds having more than two axles. The permit fee is based on the permit length of the period requested.

  • 30 days: $130
  • 90 days: $390
  • 180 days: $780

Permits can be purchased by one of these methods:

For more information, please see our Permits FAQ.