Protect your child with an ID card

You might think that your child’s first visit to an MVD office will come once it’s time for him or her to get behind the wheel, but did you know there’s a good reason to make the trip much sooner?

When you bring your child to an MVD or MVD authorized third party office, you can easily obtain an Arizona identification card for him or her at any age…

Maybe that doesn’t sound like a big deal, but having that Arizona ID card can help protect against identity theft and it allows law enforcement agencies to rapidly distribute your child’s information and photograph in the event of an Amber Alert. An Arizona ID card can also make it easier for children to travel, enroll in school or activities and even get a driver license some day.

Obtaining an Arizona ID

An Arizona ID card is available to all ages (including infants) for $12. You will need to bring your child to an MVD or MVD authorized third party office, where you will fill out paperwork and present the necessary forms of identification. After your child’s photo is taken, you will receive a temporary ID before you leave the MVD office. Your child’s ID card will then arrive in your mailbox within 15 days.

Please visit our website to see the full list of acceptable forms of identification and for more information on what you’ll need to bring to the MVD office.

You’ll also want to remember that a new photo will be needed as your child grows and changes. Photo updates are available at MVD and MVD authorized third party offices. A duplicate identification card with the new photo costs $12.

For more information, visit azdot.gov/ChildID.

Tags: