NEPA Guidance

Categorical Exclusions

The Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) defines Categorical Exclusions (CE) as actions that based on past agency experience with similar actions, do not involve significant environmental impacts.

Actions that meet the criteria for CEs in 40 CFR 1508.4 and 23 CFR 771.117(a) and (b) are approved as CEs. Both (c)-list and (d)-list categorical exclusions may be approved by ADOT under the CE Assignment Program.

Actions individually documented under paragraph (d) are approved by ADOT under the NEPA Assignment Program.

CE Process


The following guidance documents will assist in preparing CEs:

Environmental Commitments

EA/EIS Process Guidance

Federal Highway Administration and the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials

Previous Highway Acts Affecting Change in Environmental Law

NEPA Regulations and Processes