Alert icon

Aircraft Registration Changes Are Coming

Learn more

Attention Aircraft Owners: 

As a result of legislation approved this year, there will be changes to the aircraft registration system in the coming months. 

Effective before the 2023 registration cycle: 

  • Balloon owners will no longer be required to pay registration fees.
  • Decals will no longer be required on aircraft.
  • A change in the assessment formula may result in registration credits for some aircraft to be applied to the 2023 registration cycle.

Effective during the 2023 registration cycle: 

  • There will be upgrades to the AZ MVD Now portal to include aircraft and make it easier to manage aircraft licensing for both aircraft owners and the State of Arizona. 
  • Staggered registration: Instead of all registrations due in February, deadlines will be spread throughout the year. Details are to be determined.
    • Note: Owners of two or more aircraft can establish a fleet and pay all their registrations at the same time. 

What you can do to prepare for these changes: 

We will be updating you as things change. 

Show less

Aircraft Registration Services

Aircraft Registration Services

Registration Renewal

Nonresident Registration

Transfer of Ownership

Aircraft in Storage, Salvage, Under Maintenance

Destroyed Aircraft

Valuation and Tax

Federal Aviation Administration Registration

Hearing and Appeal Procedure

Forms - Aircraft Services


Contact Us (Aircraft Services)

Renew Your Aircraft Registration Online

It's fast, convenient and secure. Check your renewal notice or current registration to find your due date.

A renewal registration notice of assessment is sent annually in December.


Certificate and Decal

A registration certificate and license decal will be issued upon full payment of the initial registration fee, appropriate license tax and any penalty due. A license decal, valid for the calendar year, is issued with the registration certificate.


New Aircraft Entrants into Arizona

Initial registration must be accomplished within 60 days of purchase or lease of an aircraft or within 60 days after the aircraft is brought into the state.


Aircraft Exemption

To claim exempt, nonresident, maintenance, salvage or stored-aircraft tax status, an owner must complete an Aircraft Exemption Affidavit and file it with the Motor Vehicle Division on or before the last day of February or, if it is a new registration in the state, within 60 days of purchase or entry into Arizona.


Annual Status Affidavit

To claim annual status on aircraft, and owner shall file a sworn affidavit (Aircraft Annual Status Form Affidavit) and submit to MVD no later than the last day of the registration cycle or within sixty days after entry into this state.


Sold Notice

When you sell your aircraft or otherwise transfer ownership, or end your lease, you should submit the  Aircraft Sold Notice to MVD.  This notice is your protection from liability for various situations that may occur after the sale.